First time building computer... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 02-23-2005, 06:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie

Default First time building computer...

I've been building a new computer for myself two days no, finally got all the wires hooked up right and everything, but I boot up, it goes through a few checks, gives me some errors, then shuts down. (This is my first time building a computer, so I am inexperienced, though I do know the basics such as BIOS and whatnot)

"Serial_Ch01 Master: No Device"
"Serial_Ch02 Master: No Device"
"CMOS Checksum, Bad"
"CPU Fan Error"
"No drive attatched to FastTrack controller, no BIOS installed"

Does anyone have any idea what might be causing these problems, because I have no idea, any help is greatly appreciated!

Old 02-23-2005, 06:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie

Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Do you know how to reset the bios?

Old 02-23-2005, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie

Absolutely not :-\

I have an ASUS A8V Deluxe, I am reading the manual it has several ways but I am unclear which one to use, if they are what I should use, they all say "Updating BIOS", none say "Install BIOS". Please help!
Old 02-23-2005, 07:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie

Look for something that says Clear CMOS.... that should do it... I know when i got that error Clearing the CMOS fixed it...
Old 02-23-2005, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie

Thanks, I'll try it, anyone know about the other errors?
Old 02-23-2005, 07:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie

I'm not sure about this because im still new to computers, but do you have SATA HDD's or IDE Hdd's?
Old 02-23-2005, 08:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie