First Time Build, Please Help - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2005, 06:44 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

Alright...This computer is getting to be much more expensive but I am going to figure it all out and see if i can make it, might go for the ocz ram after all

truebe
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 06:44 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

oh, i totally forgot about the ram dale suggest

you should try to get those if you can, they are tested for ddr500 stock, which is very good (the extra 40 is worth it; the highest the xms could overclock to on the first page of reviews was ddr470, which isn't a lot, and those ocz can probably go further than ddr500 when oc'd)

oh, and are you going PCI-E or AGP

for agp, that psu is fine
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 06:59 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

damn...going pci-e, let me find another psu
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 07:03 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

How do i know what psu is for pci-e?
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 07:16 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

if it's labeled ATX 2.0, 24pin, EPS, or BTX, or PCI-express ready, it's pci-e

try to stick with antec, fortron, OCZ, or thermaltake
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 07:40 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Again I recommend this one:

Thermaltake PurePower 460w Blue Light PCI Express Power Supply
http://www.xoxide.com/thermaltake-pu...press-psu.html
$89.99

But if you want an inexpensive power supply that get's the job done and has all the right connectors then this one is an excellent deal:

Thermaltake TR2 430W Power Supply
http://www.xoxide.com/thermaltake-tr2-430w-psu.html
$45.99
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 08:18 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

Alright nice, going for the TR2 430W

Thank You All for your help you've really made this a easier for me
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 09:40 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
You could get 2 sets of these (4X256MB configuration) for about $200 and these should overclock well plsu they are already at PC4000 speeds
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-844&depa=1
although 4 DDR sticks ≠dual chanel

I would recommend OCZ, PQI or G-Skill RAM
G.Skill is a really good overclocker
PQI and OCZ use the same TCCD's (chips) and PCB's (the boards) and are good overclockers, but not as good as G.Skill
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 10:16 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

umm 4 sticks will run in dual channel, I had my computer set up like that before. 4 gb page file worked fine
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:10 PM   #30 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

Yeah, i think i might get 512x2 g-skill for $230
__________________

truebe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.