First Time Build, Please Help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2005, 04:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

So...

I need a new case or psu becasue the power that comes with that case is crap or just get a case with no power and get a psu

Seagate HD

Cooling if i OC, so i guess a Zalman

And better Ram

Thank You all, anything else is appreciated
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 05:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

VIDEO: 6600 GT PCI -
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-214&depa=1

RAM: Dont think I can afford the G-Skill, Corsair XMS
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-450&depa=1

Fan: Zalman
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...118-119&depa=0

HD: Seagate
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...148-020&depa=1



Does this all match up?

Also, Can Anyone pick out a case that will handle all of this or a psu? Case with none and buy power supply?

Thanks again everyone,

Truebe
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 05:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

any kind of case with OCZ modstream 450, fortron blue storm 500, or antec neopower480

also, the xms aren't great OCing ram, so don't expect much from them
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 05:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I don't know of any cases that come with those power supplies diablo.

You could get 2 sets of these (4X256MB configuration) for about $200 and these should overclock well plsu they are already at PC4000 speeds
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-844&depa=1
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 05:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

meh, i didn't use commas

i meant buy any case you want and then buy one of the power supplies i listed (they will fit any case you buy)

and those sticks that dale posted are good, but i don't know how well you can overclock with four sticks
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 06:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You can still overclock well with 4 sticks , their all rated to 4000 speeds so that will be great

And for a power supply, thermaltake td-420AD, runs ya 35$, or get a td-480AD
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 06:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

hmm...I was looking for so good cheap ram, i am not sure i will OC my ram since I am kinda new to OCing, only done my video card. $200 bucks is more than i wanted to pay but ill think about it.

Even if the xms ram isnt good for OCing, its still good ram, right?

Thanks for the case and ram info, appreciate it
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 06:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

xms is very good ram, but it's just not very good at OCing compared to the $220+ ram

3200+ stock is already very fast, so you wouldn't have is worry about it (the xms can probably push it up to 3800+ speeds)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 06:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

The RAM I suggested is great for OC and only $200

But remember that overclocking the processor without overclocking the RAM to keep up with it is pretty much pointless. I would just try to budget the extra $40 for that good overclocking ram, and since it is already at high speeds you can overclock the processor up a good amount before you even have to worry about messing with the RAM timings, voltages, etc.

The XMS is great if you don't OC or don't do it too much. The XMS RAM I have I just love, but I don't OC very much at all because I think everything is powerful enough at stock. And honestly your system will be plenty powerful at stock I think but if you want to overclock I guess it's better to spend the extra.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 06:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

Thanks

Case:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-105&depa=1

PSU:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...153-007&depa=0

Ok...case and psu, hows it look?
__________________

truebe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.