First Time 940 OC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2009, 06:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: First Time 940 OC

Thats were I put the 80mm fan But it touches the heatsink so I can't close up the case. And yeah the PSU thing got me as well.. It don't think it exhausts into the case, just the heat from the PSU itself makes it down to the core contact. And that heats up the cpu, haven't OC yet. Gonna run prime for a while tonight just to make sure my heatsink is finally on right.

Case mod would be a good idea, something I'd do for sure instead of buying a new one. Place the PSU upside down and add a 250mm exhaust fan on top? Only thing is cutting, I'm sure I could find somewhere or someone but it depends on how much it costs.

Those fans are 38mm thick though... I have this case Newegg.ca - COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-KKN2-GP Black Aluminum & Mesh bezel / SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases and there isn't much room to slide in a fan to the HDD fan place without removing the bay themselves. Just measured and there's about 4cm of room so it would work, just a little tight.

edit: I feel incredibly dumb asking this but where is the CPU multiplier located in the BIOS? I've looked through every option and can't seem to find it. I'm using the biostar TA790GX.
__________________

dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 09:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: First Time 940 OC

Ever thought about mounting it on the outside of the case? You can put a grill on it to protect (stupid people's) fingers and it will work.

For the case mod you would use a hole saw:

Just get one in the size you need.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 09:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: First Time 940 OC

Phenom II's do respond well to low temperatures.
Even if it isn't overheating as such, you might still get better overclocks with lower temps.

Also, more volts does tend to give more stability when the temperatures can be managed.
If you increase the volts, the temperature is going to increase. Sometimes, increasing the volts can make it less stable if it causes the temperature to rise too much.

Also, try overclocking using a combination of HTT increases and multiplier increases.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 10:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: First Time 940 OC

@ Trotter, found out there's a steel mill in town that does custom orders, doubt it'll be too expensive for two 25 cm holes. Unless I could find one of those saws somewhere for cheap. I'm gonna look into it more but this would be a good project to keep me busy before school starts again.

@apokalipse, My temps are fairly decent right now, after an hour an a half of prime 95 at 3.0ghz I topped out at 44-45c. I can't seem to find the option in the BIOS to increase the multiplier, Idk if I'm just missing it or what. The V12 auto overclock brought it up to 3.64 ghz stable, for about 2 minutes. But near the end it was only reaching 45-46c. I'm gonna go scan through all the option again, if I can't find it I'll be back tomorrow.
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 10:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: First Time 940 OC



go to CPU FID/VID control




Core FID is the multiplier.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 10:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: First Time 940 OC

Ah ok thanks a bunch, I wasn't sure what the "custom p states" meant. Now I can finally do something .

Edit: So it stops booting with the multiplier at 17.5x, set it back down to 17.0 and it seems to be running fine prime fine so far. So to make it boot with a higher multiplier I'd need to add more slightly more voltage by using the Vcore option, right?
__________________

dirkpitt45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incubation: Time is running out Gabb PC Gaming 3 04-02-2009 02:29 PM
Playing WoW for the first time ever...questions Chad711 PC Gaming 67 03-17-2009 02:03 PM
Outlook time is different from system time LightingBird Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-09-2009 01:47 PM
Time for a new monitor? Captain Murphy New Systems | Building and Buying 15 09-04-2007 01:18 PM
What would you guess is the next optimal time to build computerstuffomg New Systems | Building and Buying 30 09-03-2007 12:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.