first overclock, advice? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2011, 03:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 183
Default first overclock, advice?

this is my first overclock ever, just built my new system finally ( details in sig later about to go out for a few hours)

its an amd phenom II X2 555 Black edition ( cores wouldnt unlock, stuck in restart loop when i did unlock to an X4 , but if someone could help with that it would be apprecaited )

its on the stock FHS , running stable as of right now at 3.88Ghz i want to hit 4.0 Ghz eventually though.

i just have one question , whats a temperature limit on these chips? as of right now im about 10-15 mins into Prime 95 and its been ruining 39-42 degrees. i plan on ordering a new fhs but if these are fine than i will put the money elsewere.

__________________

__________________
http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/3070/wizjz.jpg
AMD Phenom II X2 555 B.E @ 4.0 Ghz
Asus M4A88T -M/USB3
8 Gigs G-Skill Ripjaw DDR3
CM Storm Scout Tower
(1) 500 GB HD, (1) 300 GB HD
XFX GT240
Corsair CX500

Like my Sig?
I'll make ya one ;)
Dumpy is offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: first overclock, advice?

I would say don't go over 70c.
I personally would stay below 65c, that was my rule for when I oc'd my 955.

If your sitting comfy at 3.8 and 41c I'd say keep going. Just watch your temps when you bump that voltage.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 08:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 183
Default Re: first overclock, advice?

okay thanks for the feedback , il see what its like at 4ghz and up


Edit: i just hit 4.1 and bluescreend and rebooted 2 mins in lol so back down to 3.99 and testing it as i type, its at 43-45 degreess with a x19 multiplyer and a 210 busspeed
__________________
http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/3070/wizjz.jpg
AMD Phenom II X2 555 B.E @ 4.0 Ghz
Asus M4A88T -M/USB3
8 Gigs G-Skill Ripjaw DDR3
CM Storm Scout Tower
(1) 500 GB HD, (1) 300 GB HD
XFX GT240
Corsair CX500

Like my Sig?
I'll make ya one ;)
Dumpy is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 12:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: first overclock, advice?

Have you tried just unlocking one core instead of both? Give it a shot and see... it may be the fourth core that is unstable.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 02:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 183
Default Re: first overclock, advice?

how do you go about that ? i have only been able to figure out how to unlock both never just the one :s


Edit : Thanks for the suggestion trotter, i figured it out i went into my bios and set the ACC to manual and it gave me 2nd, 3rd , 4th, 5th and 6th core to enable/ disable so i disabled 5 and 6 and voila i am now running a X4 at 3.99 Ghz as for stability , i have no idea i just loaded windows and its ok. Now , off to prime

Edit x2 :
Never mind it unlocks and runs but cpuz wont pick up the other 2 cores , if someone has a solution to that it would be great, if not then whatever. I backed it off back to a X2 and am as of right now 10 mins into P95 4.03 Ghz at 46 Degrees
__________________
http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/3070/wizjz.jpg
AMD Phenom II X2 555 B.E @ 4.0 Ghz
Asus M4A88T -M/USB3
8 Gigs G-Skill Ripjaw DDR3
CM Storm Scout Tower
(1) 500 GB HD, (1) 300 GB HD
XFX GT240
Corsair CX500

Like my Sig?
I'll make ya one ;)
Dumpy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade my pc or overclock? I need advice tehspamninja Overclocking and Modding 11 01-05-2007 10:24 PM
Want to overclock Ati 9600(non pro) but need advice. DEATH-INCARNATE Overclocking and Modding 2 11-11-2006 12:06 AM
overclock the 3000+ Venice or a new cpu to overclock? CorNut New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-11-2005 07:38 PM
About to Overclock......need advice and patience. MADWAD Overclocking and Modding 75 06-24-2005 10:52 PM
is it possible to overclock?? advice plz?? geo3tech Overclocking and Modding 8 08-06-2004 03:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.