first OC - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2006, 11:25 AM   #41 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

its fine...2.73 ghz is good for me for now.. .ill push it a little more once i get better cooling.... i think she still has some room to go

i found out the benchmark i was using measured memory and disk performance, and hardly tested the cpu. so i got PCMARK05 and compared various OC settings, and settled on the better performing setup: 250mhz HTT with 166mhz mem. divder. It puts the CPU at 2.73ghz and the memory at 196mhz.
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 12:30 AM   #42 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

i hunted down a recent BIOS update and updated it. it gave me multiplier control but my vcore is still limited to 1.55v, which is where it's at right now. I lowered the muli to 10x and put FSB at 270mhz, which put the RAM at 225mhz. It benched a little slower than my last configuration....which I thought was weird. So i put the multi back to 11x and I'm pushing the cpu to 255 which puts it at 2.8ghz (FX-57!!!) and the RAM at just above 200mhz. I had to raise the chipset voltage a little to 1.6v to boot into Windows for more than a few seconds. unfortunately, that put my HTT above 1000MHz...lowered it to 3x, but still unstable after an hour of Prime95.


since i can't raise the voltage any more, i think this is where i'm going to be stuck at. cuz its not reaching max temps at all when it becomes unstable at higher clocks and a 10x multi. Unless.....can lower temps help stabilize the CPU? oh well, i'm happy
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.