First Attempt at Building Comp... Few ?'s - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2005, 02:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 22
Default First Attempt at Building Comp... Few ?'s

Here are the specs:

MSI K8N Neo 4 Platinum
1 GB of CORSAIR XMS TWINX1024-3200C2PT
Antec TRUE430 ATX 430W PS
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice Integrated into Chip FSB Socket 939 Processor
eVGA 256-A8-N344-AX Geforce 6800GT 256MB PCI-E
Lian Li PC-61 USB Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

I was wondering if there was a better Power Supply and Computer Case for this build.

And is it woth to spend the extra $50 or so for PCI-E? Or should I just buy the MSI K8N Neo 2 and an AGP 6800GT?

Thanks.
__________________

pookyman is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 02:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Yea, it definatly is worth $50; at least I think so. PCIe allows you to upgrade to much better graphics cards and gives you the cheerful feeling of having the best that you can get...

Anyways, for a better computer case, shop on newegg, and look until you find one that you want. As for the PSU, look for one that has a high wattage and 12 volt rails...(I think that's right...)
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

The PSU is fine, allbeit a little bit small.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104155
That is a really nice one, OCZ makes some good stuff. You dont have to go with that one, and you could stick with yours too, but IMHO you should get a bigger one.

The case is completely up to you. How you want your comp to look is your prerogative, and cases have no effect on performance whatsoever. unless you want to get into air circulation within cases, but we wont get into that. Just get a niec big roomy case. Or a small one, if that is your bag. It's up to you man.
Him is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 02:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Oh and also, I read somewhere that the Antec does not support PCI-E, however someone told me that you can buy a converter for cheap. Is that true?

*edit* And what do you mean by the PSU is too "small"?
pookyman is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 02:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Too small, meaning it does not have enough power. When someone refers to a power source as being to small, they are saying that it does not spit out enough power. Henceforth, it being too small.

I dont know about Antec not supporting PCI-E. Antec is a pretty big company, and it would be dumb of them to not support it.
Him is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

you should get a different mobo, like this one...its the best overclocking board, im going to buy it for sure here it is.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152
this one is waaaay better
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

That PSU is 100 watts more powerful than mine, so it will give enough power, with good amps on the 12V. I would get this PSU though http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153008(but any PSU from Antec, OCZ or Thermaltake, are excellent quality PSU's.

I think that it is worth it to get the PCIE motherboard, just so you can get the future cards, and not have to buy pretty much a whole pc again.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 05:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

eeh. Im not a fan of MSI products, as well as ASUS or ABIT products. I would go Gigabyte.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 05:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default

GiGabyte or dfi
__________________

tylerdrude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.