Finally hit sub 30sec in superpi w/ A64 3200+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2006, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 367
Default Finally hit sub 30sec in superpi w/ A64 3200+

ok guys, I finally reached my goal of getting sub 30 sec in superpi. I got it using a 3200+ @ 3.0. The screenshot shows 2.98 @ 1.6v becuase 3.0 was not stable at all but keep in mind I got the score running it at 3.0 @ 1.6v! For ram ive have 1x2gb of some ocz gold ram w/ the timings youll see in the screenshot. If ANYONE would give me some tips as to how to adjust these timings and better, please let me know. Right now all the timings in the left column of amdtweak are as good as theyre getting. Anything lower than those timingas and my comp throws a fit. The right column I didnt really mess with so please, any tips are welcomed gladly. I am going to run 05' but at 2.98 @ 1.6v becuase at 3.0 my comp wont even boot, but 2.98 is close enough. Same timings, just 20mhz loer clock. I give you sub 30 sec superpi score with a 3200+!!



Ill run 3dmark right now and get back to you guys with a score. If anyone wants more specs lemme know. Flames, suggestions, w/ever i dont care.

BTW, everything is on air. my cpu idles at 32C and hits mid 40's under load.
__________________

__________________
Setup no longer here.... need new one....
xenium is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 05:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

very nice, good job with that.. half the cache and kickin more *** than an fx series
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 06:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

interesting, my p4 at 2.8 did it in 58seconds, when i OCed it to 3.4 it dropped to 48sec, that emans that in order for me to achive sub 30 seconds it wuold need to be OCed to like 4.6ghz!!, man intels suck
harry18 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by harry18
interesting, my p4 at 2.8 did it in 58seconds, when i OCed it to 3.4 it dropped to 48sec, that emans that in order for me to achive sub 30 seconds it wuold need to be OCed to like 4.6ghz!!, man intels suck
Correction....P4's suck
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 06:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

alright, yea just the P4s suck, ill agree to that
harry18 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 08:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

congrats, nice job. Lowest I can get is 30.4** or something like that. One of the cores on this thing just craps out way too early compared to the other =/ I ran it at 2.817 to get that score, but I run it at 2.808GHz now because I know it's stable and anything higher probably isn't
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 08:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Nicely done.

The only time i ever ran SuperPI i got 31.** something, i dont remember. I think i could most likely get it under 30sec but i dont really feel like messing around with settings right now. My temps would go out the roof if went any higher with my OC. Its almost 100F in my room with my computer running and the doors and windows open. We dont have AC in this house either, we dont normally need it but its incredibly hot out today, Dam global warming!!
thebleakness is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

wow, that is amazing, i mean we're talkin bout a 3200+ here, great job man.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.