Finally got some where in overclocking! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2006, 06:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Finally got some where in overclocking!

Ok the past month I really got into overclocking my ram, cpu, and gpu. Heres where I am at now:

Video card- I am currently using a EVGA 7900 GS with a vf-900 and a some as5 thermal compound. I managed to pull off the 1.55v volt mod for the gpu and 2.24v for the memory. From 550/1380 I hit 700/1700. Gained 1k more in 3dmark05 which I could care less but get like 10 extra fps in higer resolutions that I am starting to use so overall, its cool. Oh and I have thermaltake copper ramsinks.

Ram- Well since I am using 4x 512mb ram sticks, and they are generic (2x dual-sided kingston at 3-3-3-8 timings ddr400, 1x one-sided gskill 3-4-4-8 ddr400, 1x one-sided kingston 3-3-3-8 ddr400). I currently have the ram at 3-5-4-9 at a fsb of 217. I only did this because the memory wouldnt even stay stable at a fsb of 208 (timings were 3-4-4-8). Right now priming, so far so good. Will tighten timings when I find the max oc for my cpu.

Cpu- Currently using a amd 4000+ skt939. I am trying to get to this thing to fx-55/57 specs which wouldnt be so hard if it wasnt for this crappy psu and motherboard (I could get around most of my ram issues with a decent motherboard that has a ram divider and then I could use some decent timings with a marginal oc). Right now at 2604mhz, its been stable for a half an hour, which obviously is too early to say if its stable and what not.

I will be getting a a Hiper 580w Psu off of newegg along with a DFI Ultra-D. I might also get a dual core opteron for $155 considering the x2 3800 for skt 939 is never in stock now (same thing with the 7900 gto, that ****ed me off).
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 08:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

*Chants* "Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron!" (Etc etc etc ad infinitum)

Edit: Sorry, that wasn't very helpful was it?
__________________

__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 09:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

It does, you want me to get an opteron and I probably will!
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 09:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

lol. theyre not in stock cause of the price drops, which i will be utilizing around january(getting my new pc...adds along to b0dge: "Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron!!!!! YAY!!!!!"
tho i just may be going the C2D route if i got the dough, otherwise, Opteron or an mid-high range athlon.(like 3500-4200)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Well it turns out for some reason my ram speed on the video card of 1700 isnt stable past like 55 degrees celcius. The ram voltage may not still be at 2.24v because I accidently brushed up against the reisistor putting new as5 on. Maybe I can play around with the vram timings? Idk, somebody will figure something out though.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 08:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
It does, you want me to get an opteron and I probably will!
Oh, OK, cool. You really should consider one, they're the best thing since sliced bread!

"Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron......"
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 10:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b0dge
Oh, OK, cool. You really should consider one, they're the best thing since sliced bread!

"Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron, Opteron......"
lol its pretty true. If I ran AMD I'd hex off everything but the Opteron line and maybe semprons and turons.
__________________

__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.