finally got some plexiglass(or accrilic) - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2006, 07:24 PM   #31 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

wait....hold up a sec
Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
wow that is quite some cathode there...
it isnt a cathode, just a 12in purple neon stick.

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
where in gods name did you get that beast!
actually, for a neon, its pretty small, and got it at biglots for like 15bux(for a car tho)
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 07:42 PM   #32 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default pic

heres a pic of some cd's the neon, and the case....
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 08:34 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

how did you plan on getting something meant for a car into a computer case, and hook up to your PSU? Also wouldn't a neon light not meant for a computer be hotter, therefore raising temps?
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 08:41 PM   #34 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

actually, it makes barley any noticeable heat at all, and uses .3A 12v, so if i get a good ps, then i should be good. also i got some old adapters, and some pretty good wiring skils, so i could just splice the wires from that into the same connector the front neon is coming from(be a total of .4A) on one molex. is that ok? some hdd's i got here run at .27A, and those work fine
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 08:55 PM   #35 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

how bout this, stick the neon on the bottom. Take the front bezel off then cut a round circular hole the diameter of the neon stick on the metal behind it. But check at first that it will fit if you do that because there is some space from metal to bezel. And if its a tad bit to long try cutting off some of the plastic. Make it fit!
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 09:15 PM   #36 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

in that pic, its as short as i can get it...i cant drill a hole in the front, because there is a bezel clip right there, maybe the back, and make a box or cover or something for its fragile tube?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 09:21 PM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

its only 1 bezel clip, simply redremel a new clip hole up a tad bit higher. dremel off the current clip and glue it back on where the new hole is :P
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 09:42 PM   #38 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

lol, thats kinda smart, but, im already missng a clip on the back(side that u cant get to anything but one clip) that clip. the one to the right of the cd drives. i guess i could lose that one clip on the bottom, and put a cabinet handle under the bezel so it dont break off when i carry it(speaking of, im gonna put a handle on the back too, above the fan, below the ps)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 09:44 PM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

you can always create some sort of custom clips or something of the like for the front. be creative
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 09:46 PM   #40 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

hmm creative...like glue a block of plastic, drill a hole in the case, drill a hole in the plastic and use a wood screw? hah, that would work too!!!
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.