Few basic case mod ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2005, 04:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Few basic case mod ?

I have an Antec steel case. It is your generic steel case, cost me $90. nice case, big, heavy, and sturdy as all hell. Whats the best wayn to cut it? A jigsaw? What is the best way to strip all the paint off of it? Just sand the hell out of it? Anyone got any suggestions like paper grit or whatnot?

Thanks all
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You basically answered your own questions.....for these thick *** cases like mine is also, ya gotta use a jigsaw, dremel aint gonna cut it...literally......or if you have an air compressor by chance a good ole fashioned cutting wheel works great too......

For sanding I think you'd need around 800grit or so...you need it to be somewhat rough but you don't want to gouge your case and not have a smooth finish.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 07:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

looks like you and me both are gunna do some case modding soon.

i gotta fit two 120mmx38mm monsters on the front and back of my case.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 07:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah, I got a radiator to fit in (maybe 2) and a valve tree I'm going to put somewhere and I'm going to have to squeeze my pump(s) in somewhere. It's going to be quite a project.

The top of my case is rivited on, and i gotta take that peice off. Is there some sort of special way of removing the rivets?
Him is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 12:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

you have to use a drill and drill them out
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.