Fastest Processer for this Mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2008, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50
Default Fastest Processer for this Mobo?

I have a MSI K8N Neo4-F mobo with a Athlon 64 3200+ CPU.
Whats the fastest CPU I can get that will fit my mobo?
__________________

__________________
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/8...ar298983lm.gif
AMD Athlon 64 +3200 \'Venice\'
XpertVision GF6600GT 256MB PCI-E
2x 512MB Corsair Value DDR RAM
Seagate 160GB SATA HDD
SuperFlower 500W PSU
X-Blade 511 Case
MSI K8N Neo4-F Motherboard
Nemesis1331 is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 10:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Fastest Processer for this Mobo?

the fastest is liek a opteron 185.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 11:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: Fastest Processer for this Mobo?

You might as well upgrade. It'll cost you more to upgrade with that motherboard than it will to update to a new mobo/cpu combo.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Fastest Processer for this Mobo?

If you plan on just a cpu upgrade I would grab an opteron. If you think that in the near future you might upgrade your whole rig then I would strongly agree w/ what twizted suggested
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 08:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Fastest Processer for this Mobo?

Opty 185 or FX-62 (I think).

s939 is dead, but it still works.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 10:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Fastest Processer for this Mobo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Opty 185 or FX-62 (I think).

s939 is dead, but it still works.
he could always get the opty 165 and oc it.
thats what i did with my s939board.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 07:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Fastest Processer for this Mobo?

over even a 3600 brisbane.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 08:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Black.Ice. Send a message via MSN to Black.Ice.
Default Re: Fastest Processer for this Mobo?

6400+?

I think....I have it and it's blistering fast.

Not sure if your mobo supports AM2 though.
Black.Ice. is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 08:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: Fastest Processer for this Mobo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black.Ice. View Post
6400+?

I think....I have it and it's blistering fast.

Not sure if your mobo supports AM2 though.
No it doesn't.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 12:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50
Default Re: Fastest Processer for this Mobo?

Alrighty, thanks for everything.

If I were to get a whole new mobo + cpu what would be suggested?

Basically my setup is still in my sig. (Dodgy ain't it!)
__________________

__________________
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/8...ar298983lm.gif
AMD Athlon 64 +3200 \'Venice\'
XpertVision GF6600GT 256MB PCI-E
2x 512MB Corsair Value DDR RAM
Seagate 160GB SATA HDD
SuperFlower 500W PSU
X-Blade 511 Case
MSI K8N Neo4-F Motherboard
Nemesis1331 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS m2n sli deluxe mobo problem. possibly cpu galvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-24-2007 02:04 PM
quick power/reset/ mobo conection question jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-19-2007 07:52 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.