Faster computer... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2004, 12:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 28
Default Faster computer...

Im pretty new to the inner workings of these contraptions, and I was wondering. What would make the most noticable diffrence in a computers performance: adding more memory or a faster processor?

J/w
__________________

blankcanvas is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 322
Default

more memory, a faster procesor would but that means replacing the bulk of your computer. Its not worth it. I suggest upgrading to faster and larger memory.
__________________

Hackerman is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 12:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 28
Default

No, im not saying im upgrading, I dont really need to right now.

I was just asking what would make the a more noticably diffrence, more RAM or a faster processor.

Which one does what exactly?
blankcanvas is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 12:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

With the speed of today's processors, you will not notice much of a difference in just a few hundred MHz upgrade. That is why I am going for the Athlon 3200+ which is much cheaper, because the 3400+ wont give me that much of a performance boost over the 3200+. However, with more RAM, your computer will run much faster because it will not have to use the page file as much. Hard drives are slow compared to RAM, and when your PC is using the page file too much, its not fun. Faster RAM will also mean faster performance. Always go with the speed that matches your front side bus, NEVER lower.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 11:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 28
Default

Alright, thanks.
blankcanvas is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 04:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Always go with the speed that matches your front side bus, NEVER lower.
I'm assuming that with a 800fsb pentium 4, since it's quad-pumped, all you need is 200mhz memory?
__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default Re: Faster computer...

Quote:
Originally posted by blankcanvas
Im pretty new to the inner workings of these contraptions, and I was wondering. What would make the most noticable diffrence in a computers performance: adding more memory or a faster processor?

J/w
Well they are both important.. If you have 128mb of RAM and a 3.2ghz processor your system will be slow. If you have 1024mb of RAM and a 533mhz processor your system will be slow... It's best to balance it. If your already past 2.0ghz it's best to get faster RAM. Not so much more of it...
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by knuckle50
I'm assuming that with a 800fsb pentium 4, since it's quad-pumped, all you need is 200mhz memory?
You probably will want PC3200 400 MHz memory, as most boards will support this. Also, getting CL2 memory is very important and makes the ram much faster, and is worth the extra few bucks. 333 Mhz at CL2 is faster than 400 MHz at CL3, so 400 Mhz CL2 is ideal.
CubedPC is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

i assume you mean DDR400 which is 200mhz?
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 07:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

memory or both
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.