Which is faster? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2007, 01:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Which is faster?

AMD X2 at 2.7GHz with DDR2 800 running at 340Mhz or an AMD X2 at 2.66 with the DDR2 800 running at 443Mhz?

Edit:
And I noticed when I bump my ram up to the 667Mhz level the circled numbers below jump up to higher numbers, whats all that about?

__________________

__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: Which is faster?

those are your ram timings, i assume they are set to auto in your cmos, basically the faster you run your ram, the looser (higher) your timings to ensure stability, if you want you can try 4-4-4-15 : 19 or 5-5-5-15 : 20 (cl-trp-trcd-tras : trc) with your command rate at 2T

those are nice timings (1T) at that frequency
__________________

__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Which is faster?

If I were you, I would just boot up, benchmark it, then reboot with the other settings, and benchmark that as well. Then make my decision based off the results of the tests.

You can manually set the RAM timings back, but you might not be able to boot with them at 4-4-4.

Also, what is the command rate, and how would one go about setting that?
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Which is faster?

2.66 with ram overclocked is better (sic. faster) especially if you can keep the timings tight.
only a little, but still faster.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 05:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Which is faster?

I lowered my ram speeds to 350Mhz in return for 2.8Ghz and a CAS Latency of 3, would that be faster?

__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 10:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Which is faster?

Nice, though patriots should oc better though.

Try like the guy said 4-4-4-15 command rate 2 but the highest dram frequency it can go to.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 12:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Which is faster?

Hmm, whenever I go into the area of Bios where I can edit my timings, no matter what I put, the computer beeps and resets itself untill I disable custom timings.

__________________

__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which one is faster? psychedelos Laptops and Notebooks 0 07-23-2007 11:45 AM
8 Intel Cores Faster Than 16 AMD Cores? Osiris Overclocking and Modding 9 05-28-2007 08:47 PM
My friends keeps telling me AMD X2 is faster than Core 2 pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-23-2007 11:49 PM
is it possible to get a faster connection over 100.0 Mbps on the internet or network? Wildside Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 20 05-06-2007 04:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.