Fans wont work, but I have MOBO - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2004, 11:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default Fans wont work, but I have MOBO

Ok I just bought my MOBO today and i wanna see how my fans and lights will look, I connected the power switch and all that, the LEDS lit up, but my power supply fan wont spin



and another question is I have a truewatt 430 and like it has tons of cables with those 4 pin connector things, can i connect those to fans

It came with 2 things that said fan only, so does that mean it can only support 2 fans, or can i use the other 4 pin connector things too


Or do I need a processor to see how my fans are gonna work?


any help?

thx
__________________

__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default

And if not what do i need to see them in action?

I all i have is PSU, the fans and the MOBO, thats it
__________________

__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 11:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

you have to have the cpu in it in order for the mobo to boot up, but read the following post about how to look at the fans running without the mobo:
http://www.tech-heaven.com/forum/sho...threadid=29148

the 4 pin connectors are called molex and yes you can hook all the fans up to the molex connectors EXCEPT for the cpu fan.....errrr.....let me explain further, the mobo will shut down (it does on mine) if it doesn't detect something connected to the 3 pin cpu fan plug on the mobo.
jaksback is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 12:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default

so if I get the Processor It will do it, (i dont have any ram yet BTW)
__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

errr need ram to boot also.....and the HD.....
jaksback is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 12:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

You can boot without the hd, to test the fans and such. The molex that says 'fans only' means that you should not plug a drive into that, but you can use the other ones for fans, and is usualy recomended.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.