Fans and Temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2007, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Fans and Temps

Hey Guys,

My current temps are:
CPU (Zalman CNPS9500 LED) :
idle = 38c
load = 41c

But my BIOS says that my idle is 28c , which should i believe everest or BIOS?

Secondly, my case fans are loud and i would like to buy 4x80's that are silent and have good airflow.

Please suggest some fans , and what do you think about my temps
BIOS vs. Everest ?

Thanks,
Preacher
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Fans and Temps

Most people are going to suggest yate loons just because they are fairly quiet and still cheap. If possible you might try to modify the fan mountings and put 120mms instead, they will move more air and be quieter than 80s. Also if you get coretemp it should be the most reliable, and always trust the bios
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Fans and Temps

Get 120mm fans if you can, they shift loads of air and are quieter than any 80mm will ever be
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Fans and Temps

bios and everest should be the same since they use the same temperature sensors....

try comparing speedfan temps and everest temps, if they are the same its probably accurate

if anything, your CPU is throttling when you check your BIOs so there is a signifant temperature drop
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 06:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Fans and Temps

Thanks, Commander , will do that.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 09:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Fans and Temps

I'm not sure what the equivalent for Intel is, but AMD proccesors use AMD Cool & Quiet systems, you have to disable them in the bios, what they do is throttle the CPU to reduce power usage (saves money) when the CPU isn't in use, you can leave it on or off, your choice
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 10:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Fans and Temps

If i leave it on that means more electricity, which means temps go up, tell you the truth im fine with my temps. I just need help choosing fans.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 10:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Fans and Temps

For fans what are your:
Size limitations?
Acceptable noise level?
Budget?
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 10:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Fans and Temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post
If i leave it on that means more electricity, which means temps go up, tell you the truth im fine with my temps. I just need help choosing fans.
well you lose performance? when its not running anything big, it'll throttle, you'll save a small bit on your electricity billl, but I guess thats ok
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 11:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Fans and Temps

Yeah you are right , A regular microwave takes way more then a PC in average usage.
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 OC. Which to believe for temps? SpeedFan or CoreTemp? TheOtis Overclocking and Modding 13 09-07-2007 07:17 PM
need case fans krazyq New Systems | Building and Buying 0 07-29-2007 05:22 AM
IDLE temps too high? badboyzz77 Overclocking and Modding 10 07-16-2007 02:17 AM
speed fan temps Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2007 12:16 PM
7900 Gt AeKarma Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-30-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.