Fans Fans And More Fans!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nubius

Golden Master
So I just ordered the vantec tornado the other day, 80mm with a 84CFM rating and all that good stuff. I checked my computer temperature before I shut it down to install the fan to see how much of a difference I could get. I replace the rear intake with the new tornado (yes I know most people have rear exhaust) so anyway I had a cpu temp of 57C (yeah that sucks regardless I know this too) and after I install the fan and put the fan that WAS there in the front....my temperatures rose 2 degress celcius.....Now I'm no expert in aerodynamics, but USUALLY when you have more airflow than before shouldn't it cool shit down not heat up two more degrees to now sit at 59C cpu temp? For one I believe I need to get rid of the grill at the rear of the case, because the little metal grills that are there when the case is built is just restricting too much airflow. Ontop of that I need to do a little rearranging, but still it boggles my mind how a 2x more powerful fan RAISES my temperatures........any ideas

Temperatures arent always as steady. My CPU temperatures range from 25 to 30c. I dont think that putting in the case fan did anything to cool your CPU. It did create more airflow, and got the heat from the CPU out of the case, but didnt cool the CPU any.

I am pretty sure thats what you are experiencing here. If you want to cool your CPU you shoud buy an aftermarket heatsink and fan. I like vantec. From your temps, it sounds like you have stock, and if that processor is dated at all, AMD used to make really crappy heatsinks and fans. I dont know anymore because I ALWAYS buy aftermarket fans for AMD.

i dunno shouldnt the more airflow cause cooler air to be used to cool off the cpu therefore reducing temp? i dun really know but thats my .02