fans dimming...or am i crazy? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2004, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default fans dimming...or am i crazy?

I've got 3 lighted fans, AeroCool and Vantec, and I'm not sure if I'm just imagining this or not but the two smaller ones seem dimmer than when I first bought them.....Has any of you noticed that your lighted fans dim with age?

BTW one is plugged directly to Mobo and the other two are connected via molex connectors.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 09-11-2004, 02:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

After reading your reply I realized I may have power issues
(please refer to this thread )

This is what I had:

1 120mm very bright lighted new CPU fan (via molex)
3 80mm fans (2 lighted(2 & 4 months old), 1 via mobo, 2 via molex)
1 40mm vid card fan (via molex)
512m RAM
2.4 P4 CPU
2 burners
1 HD

I just had another monitor "crash" w/a monitor error "34k 40hz frequency out of range" so I took out the 120mm monster bright lighted fan and all booted up ok.
I am using a 450W PSU for all this.
Think its too much for it?
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 09-11-2004, 02:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

Its a Real PC Power, titanium series dual fan, 450 watt

the numbers on the side are from left to right, top to bottom:

dc volts +5v -5v +12v -12v +3.3v +5Vsb
max a. 30A .5A 18A .8A 14A 2A
jaksback is offline  
Old 09-11-2004, 09:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

well, like I explained in my PM, since iremoved the bright 120mm fan that I'd recently installed, I have now more probs w/the blanking out of the monitor. I'm thinking that the vidcard was not getting sufficient power to shoot signal to the monitor. I could be wrong. Also having one of those cold cathodes, i got used to its brightness. Later this evening I'll try unplugging the burners.
jaksback is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 02:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

just bought a better (i think...) psu w/following specs:

new one: (w/lighted fans w/speed controller) 450W

+5v.........30a
-5v..........0.3a
+12v.......34a
-12v........0.8a
+3.3v......28a
+5Vsb.....2.0a

old one: (real basic, 3 speed fan) 500W

+5v.......30A
-5v........0.5A
+12v.....18A
-12v.......0.8A
+3.3v.....14A
+5Vsb.....2A

Did I get an improvement?
jaksback is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 02:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

ya know i have to buy new fan cathodes practically on a regular basis.. I have one die like once every other month or so, and it's really irritating.. but i think it has something to do with that little box full of electronics you have to plug the cathodes into (project box is the only name i know for it).. who knows
Demalii is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 03:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yes the PSU you got is an improvement. It has good solid rails.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 11:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I think you're crazy, not the fans.

I don't think it's your powersupply, I have a 420watt psu and also have:

8 80mm case fans
1 Vantec tornado
256mb of ram
Athlon M4 1.5ghz
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 12:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

but u have a raidmax... im pretty sure the rails on the raidmax are more solid than the ones he had on his older psu
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 03:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

thankyou silv3r, it was my psu cuz now with ALL the fans including that 120mm monster lighted fan runs fast and smooth and have had no more probs with the computer not strarting up or the fans dimming. The prob I was mainly having was the vid card wasn't putting out the right signal strength to the monitor and the monitor would shut itself down.....no probs now.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.