Fans, 3pin-4pin Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2004, 02:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default Fans, 3pin-4pin Question

i am considering upgrading my case fans and buying a handful of 120x38mm fans, but most appear to be 4-pin fans, does this mean molex bigazz connectors? and can i buy a fan controller for these? sorry if any of these are stupid questions, right now im running 4 80(x25 i think)mm fans in my case. thanks again in advance everyone... and have you seen this bigass fans 158 CFM on some of em, F'in amazing.
__________________

__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 02:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yes the 4pin is the 'bigazz connectors' Usually they it's pass through though so it doesn't actually take up one of your connectors...you plug in a 4pin from the PSU to the fan and the fan has another Male end molex connector to plug into another device. Also some fan controllers are different than others so it depends on whether they take 4pin or 3pin. My sunbean rheobus fan controller uses a 4pin for power and then you plug the fans into 3pin connectors, there's 4 of the pins for 4 differen't channels for fans to be on. at places like www.svc.com they also have 4pin to 3pin convertors and vice versa

The Sunbeam Rheobus fan controller works great and has 20watt per channel rating. I have a total of 9 case fans spread out along the 4 channels and it handles it superbly so not only can you use the controller to operate any fan you want you can hook up multiples as long as you don't exceed the wattage rating for the channel
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

what is the rating of your PSU tho? mine is kinda ****ty at the moment, dont know how it runs what ive got...
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

in my sig, Thermaltake 560w PurePower PSU with a +12v rail of 22a, the +3.3v is 35a I believe and the +5v rail is 30a but I don't remember offhand. If you don't have a good strong +12v rail then you shouldn't run a lot of fans and such
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.