Fan Too Loud - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2005, 08:35 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106061

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16835185116R

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106057

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106069

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835128009
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 03:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

PM 1700rpm
Air Flow 77.85cfm
Noise Level 17dBA

i may have to pick up a thermaltake orb 77cfm at only 17DBA!!
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 08:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default

Hey everyone. Today I bought a Zalman CPU Cooler 7000B-AlCu LED and I almost killed my comp. My motherboard wasn't in the instructions so none of the brackets fit that came with it. So I made myself a ghetto bracket and mounted it. It worked fine, comp came on and everything worked. There was a strange noise though, it was like squeeking or something, not sure what it was, maybe the fan? It made that noise only when loading something. So then I remade my ghetto bracket to a little different one, so the fan wasn't so loose. I put it in, the comp starts, turns off, starts again then shuts off completely. So then I say f*** this, I put my old fan back in, it did the same thing. So then I found out that my grill of the fan wasn't properly placed so I placed it correctly and now it works. So now I don't want to return the fan to the store, because it was exactly what I wanted, but it makes that weird noise, and I don't want to risk killing my pc again. Do you guys know if there are any ways I can make the fan work with my motherboard?

Here is my motherboard (Intel Grantsdale i915): http://www.techimo.com/images/img2/n...3/p4m-775M.jpg
http://www.tftcomputers.com/915pneo.jpg

You can check out my fan here (7000B-AlCu LED):
http://www.zalman.co.kr/

Thanks for any replies.
Triple-X is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 09:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Triple-X
Hey everyone. Today I bought a Zalman CPU Cooler 7000B-AlCu LED and I almost killed my comp. My motherboard wasn't in the instructions so none of the brackets fit that came with it. So I made myself a ghetto bracket and mounted it. It worked fine, comp came on and everything worked. There was a strange noise though, it was like squeeking or something, not sure what it was, maybe the fan? It made that noise only when loading something. So then I remade my ghetto bracket to a little different one, so the fan wasn't so loose. I put it in, the comp starts, turns off, starts again then shuts off completely. So then I say f*** this, I put my old fan back in, it did the same thing. So then I found out that my grill of the fan wasn't properly placed so I placed it correctly and now it works. So now I don't want to return the fan to the store, because it was exactly what I wanted, but it makes that weird noise, and I don't want to risk killing my pc again. Do you guys know if there are any ways I can make the fan work with my motherboard?

Here is my motherboard (Intel Grantsdale i915): http://www.techimo.com/images/img2/n...3/p4m-775M.jpg
http://www.tftcomputers.com/915pneo.jpg

You can check out my fan here (7000B-AlCu LED):
http://www.zalman.co.kr/

Thanks for any replies.
The connection between your CPU and your heatsink is very important. You need to use a thermal paste if you havent. I would not recommend using a ghetto bracket, because you can fry your cpu if you dont have a proper connection.

Return that product and research and install a proper one.

Looks like you have socket LGA775, so that heatsink you picked isnt compatible.

Go with this for the extra $8.00. If it fits in your system.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118114
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 10:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the Gigabyte G-Power is very good and also very quiet
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835128009
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 01:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I use this. It works great. And fits in tight places which is what I needed. They dont have it on newegg unfortunately.

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article196-page1.html
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:53 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

they do actually. they just don't have the "hyper 48" name
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103157
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 10:55 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
they do actually. they just don't have the "hyper 48" name
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103157
There it is.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 05:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default

In the end, I bought the Zalman CNPS9500 LED. It works really great. My PC is really cool, making my PC fast even when I'm encoding video. Now I can fall asleep with the fan going its full speed, and also it makes a great night-light

Thanks for the great replies. Really did help.
Triple-X is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

whats your temps with that Zalman CNPS9500 LED?
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.