Fan Setup and Turbulence Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2003, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default Fan Setup and Turbulence Issue

I've attached a drawing I made of my computer, from the side, that show the fans and which way they are blowing.

I think the fan setup may not be doing the best job it could be, to cool the system and move air through the case.

I'm wondering if this setup should change a bit (certain fans blowing in as opposed to out)?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Also, i'm thinking of using some fan filters on the front Zantec fans, and on the empty front fan slots to control dust in the case....would this compromise air flow a lot? is it worth it to use fan filters, or stick with cleaning the innerds of the puter every few months.

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled.jpg (21.5 KB, 74 views)
__________________

__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

i'd prefer not to use the filters although they aren't supposed to take away from good air flow.. i think it would.. not much though, even though you're fan will just spin harder to get the same RPM... so either way, but i but those cans of that air spray to clean out the insides, works great if you do it once every two weeks, it'll keep it nice, then you can also use one of those static free clothes, i saw them somewhere to clean the hardware off without disrupting the crap, as for your airflow, it looks fine actually, couldn't be that much better unless you added more fans
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 11:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

right on micro, so how often do you have to change the filters? once a month or so?
Demalii is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i would not use a filter if it is too dense/ thick. the filter doesn't do that much good unless your environment is very dusty. your setup looks good except... shouldn't the side fan be blowing air into the case onto the cpu/ mobo?

i think that is why in your diagram you have the word "OUT" empasized, you aren't sure either.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 12:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

wow, didn't even see that, true dat =)
Demalii is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 03:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

sweetness i might look into that
Demalii is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 10:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Thanks guys.

Quote:
Originally posted by MicroBell
Love the Graphic work on that PIC.. LOL
LOL! All i do all day, is make pretty logos for customers, so when it comes to making my own graphics... I tend to slap it together as fast as possible.


Yep, I'm going to turn that side fan around, as suggested.

I'll try the filters that i bought for a while, and see how well they work. They are the cheap plastic filters, thaqt look like a mini furnace filter.

I've also seen these aluminum mesh type of filters http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=190785 ... but I don't know how well they'd work, and they are more expensive ($6.95 Canadian)
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 10:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

everythins good, just like every other computer lolz

but i was wondering if u had fans on the top of your case, the air would be blowing out right? not in?
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 10:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spfd
everythins good, just like every other computer lolz

but i was wondering if u had fans on the top of your case, the air would be blowing out right? not in?
Nope, I don't have any blowholes on top.

I figure i have too many fans as it is, and I am adding some sound dampening, gaskets to the fans I have..to try to quiet my system down a bit.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 11:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i have the same problem as you. when the next paycheck rolls in i'm getting a hardcano 9 fan controller. it can control 4 sets of fans depending on the amps drawn. you should check it out. i think vantec make one also with higher amp ratings per channel. newegg.com is where i saw these, of coarse
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.