Fan Help needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2004, 01:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 39
Default Fan Help needed

I am building my first PC and could use some advice. I have the Asus p5ad2 deluxe p4 lga775 socket motherboard . I have the thermaltake dream tower case coming in as well. My motherboard have points for 4 fans (cpu fan, power fan, and 2 case fans). My case will come with the clear side and 3 case fans. I think I will not have a place to connect 1 fan to the motherboard, because 3 case fans, cpu fan and power fan = 5 fans. What product should I be looking for that will allow me to use all of my fans effectively? Just for info I will be running 2 Seagate sata hard drives, 3.4 pentium ee cpu, 2-4 gig of Kingston ram, sony dvd-rw, sony floppy 3.5 1.44. Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

Mike
__________________

mtslegacy is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 03:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

actually the case fans are the 4 pin molex connectors, meaning they will be using your psu connections instead of the mobo. There are converters to convert 4 pin molex connectors into the 3 pin (mobo) connector.

If by power fan you mean psu (power supply unit) fan, it runs from the box, not the mobo.
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

yea, so technically u could attach all three fans to the mobo which wouldnt be bad cuz if theyre on the mobo then u can monitor the speeds if there attached through molex then you dont have that luxery
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

unless you go out an buy a harcano or some thing of the sort...
compy is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 02:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 39
Default

Thanks everybody. Maybe I will look into the Hardcano. How do they hook up and work?
mtslegacy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.