Fan Failure? Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2005, 03:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default Fan Failure? Help!

I was playing a little CS 1.6 and i noticed my fps was extremely low, in the 30's. I didn't know what was wrong so i restarted my computer and then it beeps and says something like

strike f1
there was a previous fan failure

i should be worried right? which fan?

thank you, all help and comments are appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

Did you strike F1?
__________________

__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

haha yea
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

In response to your specs, did you ever think about upgrading your computer truebe?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

yeah, actually i am trying to make some moeny for it right now. Im guessing you want to know what the specs will be? well im bored so ill list them anyway.

adm64 3200+ venice
eVGA 6800gt
Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Logitech 5.1 Speakers
NEC DVDRW
DFI Lanparty SLI
160GB Seagate
1GB G Skill
Thermaltake Case, not sure which one yet.
Zalman CPU fan or watercooling.
21" CRT Sony Trinitron from Ebay
MX510

This is all nice but uh....anyone know what do about fan?
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 11:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Nice man. Looks like you'll have a nice setup there. It actually doesn't sound a whole lot different than mine. Your processor is a little better, better sound card, same speakers though... I think you've got a good setup. You'll like it. Do you have an estimated cost?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 12:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

yeah, should cost me around $1400-$1500. But by the time i get the money it will be a little cheaper. I was thinking of getting the case you have, how do you like it?
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 01:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

the ZS gamer is just marketing crap and probably sound the same as $20 turtlebeach santa cruz cards

if you go that route, then you might have enough money for the new R520 or G70 gpu gfx cards that are coming out in the summer
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 02:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

didnt know that, thank you.


but...uh...can we get back to my 30fps and fan failure...it would be a fan failure on my grpahics cards....right?
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Most graphics cards will not sense a fan failure

I betya this problem is caused by your CPU fan, rip your side cover off and take a look
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.