Fan Controller For Graphics Card Fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2005, 09:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Exclamation Fan Controller For Graphics Card Fan

any one know of a program that will control the rpm of ur graphics card???? Will CPU-Z do it??? thanx
__________________

__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 10:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

no cpu z will not do it and i dont think u can. i dont know why u would want too its not that loud in fact i dont even here it over my 5 case fans lol. but u can go into nvidea settings and say if u want the fan to run at full speed all the time or not.
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 03:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

dude, i have a xfx, it runs about 45c......and sounds like a lion. When i stick my finger in the fan, my pc is almost silent with 4 other fans....it is very annoying....IF ANY1 has a adapter to make it into a 3prong so i can plug it into my mobo, or has a diff heatsink, TELL ME
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 04:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

45C is a good temp for graphics card.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 04:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default

sounds like it may not be sitting down all the way if it becomes quiet when you put your finger on it. Try to get it on abit further and then give it a try. Make sure you put enough AS5 on there too!

BTW- 100th Post!!! WOOO-HOOO!
__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 05:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

yea 45C IS A GOOD TEMP BUT MY GPU DONT NEED TO BE LOUD!!!!!!
IT IS TIGHT, SITTING DOWN ALL THE WAY, BTW WAT IS AS5?
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 05:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

AS5 = Artic Silver 5. Thermal paste
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 05:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

use rivatuner to change the fan speed on gfx card. it works wit my card and it is a noticiable difference
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 05:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

rivatuner, i cant find fan speed on it, nor a way to see rpms

thermal paste, where on gpu do u put it???
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 06:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

grrrr i found under 'poweruser in rivatuner a bunch of fan setings but i have NO idea what info im supposed to put in HELP
__________________

__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.