Failing Intel Burn test always. Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2008, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Failing Intel Burn test always. Help

Am I doing something wrong? I can never get this test to work. I downloaded 1.6 from here: IntelBurnTest v1.6 download from Guru3D.com

I extracted all data to a new folder and run the intelburntest.exe file. Fails every time.
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Failing Intel Burn test always. Help

I have this same problem.


My system feels stable as a rock but I always get at least 1 error in this test.
__________________

bigjared is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Re: Failing Intel Burn test always. Help

Intel Xeon 3220 2.4 @ 3.4 / Vista x64 sp1

P95 - 100% stable on numerous 10hr+ and 24hr+ stress tests.

Enjoy the skit =)


I got screwed. ^

---------------------------


This is how it made me feel. ^

---------------------------


This is the reality of the situation ^
Demalii is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 06:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Failing Intel Burn test always. Help

Hi, you need to extract all the files to the same folder, while maintaing its original directory structure. (i.e. if a file was inside a folder called DATA, it MUST still be there after you extract)
AgentGOD is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 07:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Failing Intel Burn test always. Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad711 View Post
I extracted all data to a new folder
Who quotes themselves? I do!
Chad711 is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 09:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Failing Intel Burn test always. Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad711 View Post
Who quotes themselves? I do!
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentGOD View Post
Hi, you need to extract all the files to the same folder, while maintaining its original directory structure.
I do too And I can bold stuff that you don't read.
AgentGOD is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 02:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Failing Intel Burn test always. Help

if the program runs, its OK...where you extracted it to makes no difference to your rig being stable or not. fails burn in, unstable. depends on how important that is to you.
BTW, i usually extract files to the same folder that the original rar is stored.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 07:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Failing Intel Burn test always. Help

i PMed you with some suggestions Chad... you really oughta post those BIOS shots up here and see what everyone else thinks tho
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 11:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Failing Intel Burn test always. Help

Thanks for doing that BongWizard. I'll post them here too. Here is my settings when I am overclocking. I was hoping to get some suggestions on what settings to change to help me get this test to work. Bong already gave me some info to try but haven't got a chance to yet. His info is below the pics.











BongWizard suggested:

Quote:
first of all, your voltages (CPU especially) shouldn't be set to Auto... try 1.375V to start and run IBT... if it fails, give it a bit more voltage, if temps get too high, you'll need less voltage

the "Chipset Voltage" setting is your equivalent to MCH/NB voltage... try setting it to somewhere between 1.2 and 1.3V (higher FSBs generally need more V here)

try loosening the tRFC to 43 and the tRTP to 4... also, you might wanna try putting the tWR at 7-9... you shouldn't leave your Static tRead on Auto either... a setting of between 7-10 is typical, but with some tweaking and voltage, 6 is achievable (though rare... try 8 or 9 to start)
Chad711 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 11:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Failing Intel Burn test always. Help

Yha see, Your Vcore is at 1.352.

Do as Bong says.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Intel bans Nvidia Apokalipse Polls 66 06-24-2008 05:26 PM
Intel Demonstrates First 32nm Chip and Next-Generation Nehalem Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 09-20-2007 01:07 AM
Intel future processors will be lead-free and environmentally friendly maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-23-2007 11:25 AM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.