Extremely Hot GFX Card!!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2006, 08:37 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Why didnt you just stick with UPS guarteeded 3 day It is actually pretty nice, whenever they ship from the NJ warehouse, i get it next day
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 10:25 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to SnowFox
Default

I do not get why people use Intel while AMD is around.
__________________

SnowFox is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 10:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Yeah I just used rubbing alcohol and a coffe filter, coffe filters are best since you can just chuck em after.

Another suggestion, make sure your case is getting good airflow, put in a case fan or two if you think you dont have enough. Also it's a good udea to leave the PCI slot under the video card free so the card has more space to suck in air. Another good thing that I did is rig up a fan that blows air directly onto your video card. You can either buy one, which I did, or you can be leet and contruct one yourself out of a case fan, a case shin, and a coat hanger.

Also the AMD vs Intel argument is stupid, we dont need it discussed in every other thread. Both are good, and all processors woulndt be as fast if the competition didnt exist.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 10:51 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

I just construct myself one, I had one of those CC switch that i broke so i used that as the support to the case, then i had one of those PCI slot covers that came with the case and you just pop out so you can install your video card or something, Taped the fan around that, and taped that around the switch and srewed into the case
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 02:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default

Not everyone has the money to just go out and buy a AMD processor thats worth getting. plus pentium is capable of running the games if u have the right speed.
Maxx is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 02:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

the 6800's run hot. although not that hot.

Mine runs at 82 degrees max on load, stock, so they are hot cards, but 102 was a bit excessive.

If you get AS5 where do you put it on your GFX card to get the heat down like that? I've never quite understood. I know that you put it between heatsinks and CPUs, (?), but where on a graphics card?

Charlie -
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 02:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

OMG! 102*C? Wow! How did it not melt? lol
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 04:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chazzer3
the 6800's run hot. although not that hot.

Mine runs at 82 degrees max on load, stock, so they are hot cards, but 102 was a bit excessive.

If you get AS5 where do you put it on your GFX card to get the heat down like that? I've never quite understood. I know that you put it between heatsinks and CPUs, (?), but where on a graphics card?

Charlie -
between the GPU and GPU heatsink.
joshd is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 05:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to SnowFox
Default

AMD is very cheap. Their priceerformance ratio is much cheaper.meaning if u bought a x2 3800 for like 300 bucks u cudnt get an intel for that price or cheaper that had the same performance
SnowFox is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 06:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

lets not get too off topic....
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.