eVGA 7900GT KO "reloaded" ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2006, 04:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
fzk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default eVGA 7900GT KO "reloaded" ?

I was wondering if anyone has heard anything from eVGA on the fixing of their 7900GT KO/KO SC cards. I am about to build a new pc and am worried about going thru the RMA nightmare some allready have.

I saw this post on eVGA forums about some changed SKU's that updated their memory, ect.

http://evga.com/community/messageboa...TOPIC_ID=17364

On newegg it shows one of their cards has a changed SKU from that list (N584) and the other is not listed.

Also is the 80/80 diffrence in speeds worth the $15 to get the KO SC? Or could I just OC it myself and save the money?

Links:
7900GT KO
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130033
7900GT KO SC
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130016

Thanks all
__________________

__________________
http://www.fiziks.org/images/sig.gif
AMD 4400+ X2 @ 2.475GHz
ASUS a8n Premium
eVGA 7900GS @ 635/821
Corsair XMS 2GB
2x200GB WD/Maxtor
Thermaltake Armor w/ 25cm sidefan
Zalman CPU/GPU cooling
fzk is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Ive got the KO. works fine for me...the drivers on the CD were maad old but they kept the fan from kicking on...good or bad is up to you. I had to switch to the new ones though....BF2 kept crashing so I bit the bullet and updated. The fan is looud but its the price to pay for BF2 lol. since i didn't pay any other type of price for it...
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I think they downclocked it a little in the factory, so it is a lot more reliable then it was.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 07:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yeah they're good now.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 03:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
Ive got the KO. works fine for me...the drivers on the CD were maad old but they kept the fan from kicking on...good or bad is up to you. I had to switch to the new ones though....BF2 kept crashing so I bit the bullet and updated. The fan is looud but its the price to pay for BF2 lol. since i didn't pay any other type of price for it...

psht who uses cd drivers any way..

Just pop it in and download newer drivers..
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

well i figured since it was the revised card, that they would be new. guess i was wroooong. lol. the new drivers are loud though...blah
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

my 7900GT KO is just fine.

And on Default settings it's supposed to be 580core/790mem but when i'm playing a game it jumps up to 610core/800 mem.

Not that I leave it at default settings.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.