This enough breathing space? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2006, 07:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default This enough breathing space?

As title

__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 07:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default

no .. i dont think theres air going in ..
__________________

__________________
plz god .. if u cant make me thin ..
make all my friends very fat !
JinkX is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 07:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 54
Default

Nah, that definetly is not enough, try moving it over to the side a little, or if that doesn't give it enough air (Which it most likely wont), move it next to the desk, allowing air to get in both sides.
Cheers
(If I'm wrong, please correct me )
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Mobo: HP DX7300MT, Intel 965 Chipset.
RAM: 1GB DDR2 PC4300
GPU: Gainward GeForce 7600GT 256MB PCI-E
Drives: 1x160GB SATA2 HD, 1x80GB SATA2 HD, 1xLG DVD-RW
Lord Joshly is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 07:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 54
Default

Also it depends on how much air is coming in from behind, because with my computer, I had one side of it right up next to my desk, and it was idling at 32 Degree's Celcius, So I moved it right away from the desk, and it dropped by 5 Degree's Celcius.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Mobo: HP DX7300MT, Intel 965 Chipset.
RAM: 1GB DDR2 PC4300
GPU: Gainward GeForce 7600GT 256MB PCI-E
Drives: 1x160GB SATA2 HD, 1x80GB SATA2 HD, 1xLG DVD-RW
Lord Joshly is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 07:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

no i didnt think so either i used to have my old celeron 2.6GHz there but this needs alot more air i guess.

Heres my temps, do they seem high or around the norm for an AMD x2 rig?


Bare in mind the heating is on in my house and my room is the warmest!!
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 07:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 54
Default

I don't know too much about CPU temps, but I think that they aren't actually too high. The Hard drive is fine at that temp.. I've had my hard drive go up to 64 C (When doing intensive gaming, and that was also when I had it next to the desk) but yours doesn't look too bad, But I would think it should still be moved (Just to be safe!) and I don't know if the Graphics card is actually really high. I'll do some research..
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Mobo: HP DX7300MT, Intel 965 Chipset.
RAM: 1GB DDR2 PC4300
GPU: Gainward GeForce 7600GT 256MB PCI-E
Drives: 1x160GB SATA2 HD, 1x80GB SATA2 HD, 1xLG DVD-RW
Lord Joshly is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 08:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 54
Default

I just did some research, and I found out, your graphics card is perfectly normal, as some peoples goes to 83 C idle, and 93 C while playing a game, and their graphics card does not freeze up, but your card could be a little colder .

Your CPU is not at extremely high temps, but according to other people, it can idle at 34 C, so I should think that moving the comp would help this to a certain extent.
Hope this helps

I forgot that you had heating on! These temps would probably be cooler, but as they are now, it isn't actually that bad, so you must have good case cooling.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Mobo: HP DX7300MT, Intel 965 Chipset.
RAM: 1GB DDR2 PC4300
GPU: Gainward GeForce 7600GT 256MB PCI-E
Drives: 1x160GB SATA2 HD, 1x80GB SATA2 HD, 1xLG DVD-RW
Lord Joshly is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 08:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 54
Default

Btw, nice comp specs, and I really like that case.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Mobo: HP DX7300MT, Intel 965 Chipset.
RAM: 1GB DDR2 PC4300
GPU: Gainward GeForce 7600GT 256MB PCI-E
Drives: 1x160GB SATA2 HD, 1x80GB SATA2 HD, 1xLG DVD-RW
Lord Joshly is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 09:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Lord Joshly thanks alot for doing that research and giving me some answers

Oh and thanks for the complements on my rig
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 09:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 54
Default

No problem, I'm happy to do it.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Mobo: HP DX7300MT, Intel 965 Chipset.
RAM: 1GB DDR2 PC4300
GPU: Gainward GeForce 7600GT 256MB PCI-E
Drives: 1x160GB SATA2 HD, 1x80GB SATA2 HD, 1xLG DVD-RW
Lord Joshly is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.