Easytune 6? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2010, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In my Mothers basement
Posts: 21
Default Easytune 6?

Well my Mobo came with a program called EasyTune 6, and basically it's supposed to OC your CPU for you, but i'm really kind of suspicious, because it seems like there are plenty of ways it could go wrong. My Mobo is the Gigabyte P55A-UD4P model, and i was wondering if it would be a good idea to use this program, if not is there another simple way to OverClock my CPU?
__________________

biohazard701 is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Easytune 6?

There are plenty of ways for that to go wrong and also manually OC'ing via the BIOS. A simple search will show you some user issues with Easy Tune. OC'ing will almost always be a gamble.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 08:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
matt123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 119
Default Re: Easytune 6?

this is just a diagnosing tool.
i.e its help to monitor, tune and overclock your gigabyte mobo..
__________________
One Machine can do the work of 50 ordinary men.
But no machine can do the work of one extraordinary man.
---Elbert Hubbard
matt123 is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 08:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In my Mothers basement
Posts: 21
Default Re: Easytune 6?

Ok thanks all. Also, what would you recommend OC'ing an i7 860 to? I want something high, but not too high that it's a big risk.
biohazard701 is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Easytune 6?

Depends on your setup. Take it in small steps. Overclock it, test for a few, check temps, etc if that runs well for a while, runs your games or programs without issue, bump it up again, etc. etc.etc.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 01:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Easytune 6?

Its tough to say " okay you can overclock this cpu to this speed, and this one to this speed, etc.." basically overclocking depends on a number of factors including cooling, RAM type and speed, motherboard and GPU. Here is a good link to info on this site, i think you will find it useful.

Click here

good luck!
cquinndesign is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Easytune 6?

Quote:
Originally Posted by biohazard701 View Post
Well my Mobo came with a program called EasyTune 6, and basically it's supposed to OC your CPU for you, but i'm really kind of suspicious, because it seems like there are plenty of ways it could go wrong. My Mobo is the Gigabyte P55A-UD4P model, and i was wondering if it would be a good idea to use this program, if not is there another simple way to OverClock my CPU?
I would not use it. It's kindve really stupid in how it overclocks. Overclocking through the bios is the best and most stable way.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EasyTune error? misterme2009 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-07-2008 05:31 PM
Core Temp or Easytune 5? for temps advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 2 07-27-2007 11:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.