Easy Cooling - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2004, 03:26 PM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

Ok, i was telling a friend about the way Shumway was cooling his comp. we discussed the condensation thing and he came up with a very good idea I thought.....instead of using the outside air, just use the outside air temp by using a sealed cold box outside. the outside air is not used, just the outside air temp.



what do ya think?

--jak
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 03:50 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

That's pretty "cool" jak it look's like it would work,right now i'm working on a box too something with 3 filter's.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 03:54 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

the only draw back to filters is that it really hampers the flow of air....unless.....you get like what I saw in someone elese thread about using a really powerful fan like from a blowdryer or smoething. the major pushing/pulling fan though should be outside where the neighbors get to listen to it instead of you.
jaksback is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:01 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

For the filter's i was gonna cut up a furnace filter they don't restrict airflow that much at all,i'll probably put a fan or 2 in there just to make sure i do get good flow>
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:02 PM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

good idea
jaksback is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:13 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 222
Default

man, you guys are paint shop professionals aren't you!?
__________________
Chris

EMachines T3025:
Creative Extigy, Creative 5300 5.1 Audio, Athlon XP 3000+, nVidia MX GeForce 4, Samsung 48x CD-R/W, Cendyne 4x DVD+R/RW, Deuce 160GB WD Caviars, ATI TV Wonder, Hitatchi SuperScan 811 21\" CRT, Logitech MX700, White/blue neon.
csw3190 is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:19 PM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by csw3190
man, you guys are paint shop professionals aren't you!?
haha, i know you are being sarcastic now, any one can draw that crap
jaksback is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:25 PM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

I was going to scan my original plans on to the comp but i thought you guy's my laugh at my artistic skill's with crayon's
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:28 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

damn shumway, didn't i already tell you once about drawing on the monitor with crayons, bad Shumway
jaksback is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:29 PM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

The crayon's are not the bad part it's the finger paint that won't come off
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.