e8400, oh baby - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2008, 11:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default e8400, oh baby

I booted up, and I looked in the bios, what voltage it was putting through...


1.15!
cpu-z will not give me the multi or fsb, so I am going to DL a new version. And coretemp said the temp is 37C but my BIOS says that it is 11C. So I am getting a new version of that too.
Then I am going to reset the cmos, and start OCing

Thought I would give you guys an update. I cant wait to see the VID on this chip.

check this out. (i must have speedstep on, but I swear I turned it off...) look at the VID. and the temps?

__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: e8400, oh baby

nice....awaiting results on your clocking.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: e8400, oh baby

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
nice....awaiting results on your clocking.
I am trying to figure out why the temps are so high. on idle 42 is way high.
but on speedfan, the "temp 1" is 9C, and temp2 is 31C. Those are the only two that make any sense. .. hmm I will go check the BIOS. brb
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 11:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: e8400, oh baby

ignore BIOS and speedfan...CoreTemp is most likely right...try reseating your heatsink?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 11:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: e8400, oh baby

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
ignore BIOS and speedfan...CoreTemp is most likely right...try reseating your heatsink?
I am going to do that. But first, I need a bios update to "unleash the power of the unknown cpu" ... uhh I thought I updated with the newest this morning...

I am looking up new bios right now. that is why my multi is at 6. It reset it to 6 when it doesnt know the cpu.

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

I have the 0901 already flashed.
Should I try to drop back one?
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 12:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: e8400, oh baby

yea...give your thermal compound some time to work itselft out too. That will drop your temps a little bit.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 12:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: e8400, oh baby

^not by more than 1-2c
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 12:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: e8400, oh baby

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
yea...give your thermal compound some time to work itselft out too. That will drop your temps a little bit.
and right now I am using crappy thermal compound. Some stuff from best buy, because my arctic silver up and vanished. So I ordered some mx-2, but it wont be here until tues. So I will redo it all then. For right now, I need to get the bios worked out. Hopefully push it a lil, and then on tues, or when I get my new mobo I can really push it.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 12:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: e8400, oh baby

I use AS5 and when first applied I as at 40 idle, now I'm at 32, so depending on the setup you can get more than just 1-2 c out of it.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 12:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: e8400, oh baby

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
I use AS5 and when first applied I as at 40 idle, now I'm at 32, so depending on the setup you can get more than just 1-2 c out of it.
I had some AS5, but it flew away.. it isnt with all my stuff, so I have no idea what the heck happened to it. sort of annoying.
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E8400 vs Q6600? gl600 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-29-2008 04:29 PM
asus p5e and e8400 no post no video, fans spinning heartofalion Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-26-2008 08:47 PM
Motherboard for OCing the e8400 nOcLuE98 New Systems | Building and Buying 39 01-24-2008 03:26 PM
Intel's Menlow Revealed: Baby Centrino Gets Ready DawnOfDoom Laptops and Notebooks 0 01-21-2008 08:28 PM
Intel 45nm Wolfdale E8500, E8400 and E8200 benchmark maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 01-08-2008 07:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.