e8400 + maximus forumla - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2008, 01:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default e8400 + maximus forumla

I finally get the chance to OC my new processor! I need to know something about the maximus's bios that I could not find in the bios or the manual. I want to know how to unlink my fsb and dram freq. They are linked, and causing me problems.

I did just do a run in 3dmark, didnt do any stress test because I want to go higher, and it was nice and cool. Here is what I ran it at:
4050mhz (450x9)
vcore-1.3
vdram-2.2
dram freq- 450 5-5-5-15(couldnt figure out how to slow it down.)
ratio : 1:1

got an extra 1000 in 3dmark. But I know I can go much higher, but the ram is making me bsod everytime I try to boot higher. (I was trying at 500x9 and my ram wouldnt go below ddr2-1000)

How do I unlink them? thanks
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 01:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: e8400 + maximus forumla

Sorry, I cant help your problem but I would like to say... WOW what a clock for 1.3vcore... Those 45NMs are more ownage than i first thought they were

What temps are you running?
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 01:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: e8400 + maximus forumla

I wasnt monitoring the whole time, and no stress.. but when 3dmark had just ended.. 46C on coretemp. But I heard those were really far off.. I read somewhere that the coretemp temps are not accurate until they get over 50C. Which I guess is ok, cus I am gonna go over that anyway.

I tried to boot at 4.5 but it would bsod no matter what vcore, but one time my little poster thing was hanging on the "det ram" so I stopped to figure out how to slow it down

and my idle was lower temp (on coretemp) on 4ghz than 3ghz
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 01:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: e8400 + maximus forumla

Asus Maximus Formula *Part 2* *Help / Overclocking / Guide* - XtremeSystems Forums

read and learn. that way you can boot up at 12.4GHz
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: e8400 + maximus forumla

haha, thanks man.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 01:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: e8400 + maximus forumla

Just remember to post your final 24/7 settings in the intel overclocking thread.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 01:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default

Will do

sorry for the bump, but I am still having problems.

I looked in the thing mgcook posted, and the only thing that mentions the fsb:dram ratio is the fsb strap. which set to any setting, still wont allow me to lower the speed of my ram down. they are still linked. How do I change that?

I still dont see anything about setting the linked or unlinked. It only says that the options for dram freq depend on your fsb. I dont want that! I would have to get faster ram to run my chip as fast as I want! HelP!

ideas?

(can a mod delete the "will do" post? that way this is only a double post?)
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 02:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: e8400 + maximus forumla

Please edit your posts..

Explore all CMOS menus it will be there somewhere, alternatively there may be a key combination to "unlock" that area. Read manual.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 03:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: e8400 + maximus forumla

I looked up everything in my manual, nothing about unlinking the fsb and dram freq. I am about to go look up more OC guides for this board. And no setting in my bios is letting me do it. I am sure that I am missing something, there is no way this cant be done...


[img=http://img140.imagevenue.com/loc791/th_93776_IMG_2412_122_791lo.JPG]

[img=http://img40.imagevenue.com/loc682/th_93778_IMG_2413_122_682lo.JPG]


[img=http://img105.imagevenue.com/loc690/th_93785_IMG_2414_122_690lo.JPG]


[img=http://img137.imagevenue.com/loc666/th_93787_IMG_2415_122_666lo.JPG]


Look there, when I change my fsb, the options change for my dram freq. How do I just manually set it?
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 06:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: e8400 + maximus forumla

Oh thats werid. I guess you tell it what speed you want the RAM to Run and it will set the ratio accordingly, reguardless of changes in processor speed.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E8400 vs Q6600? gl600 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-29-2008 04:29 PM
asus p5e and e8400 no post no video, fans spinning heartofalion Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-26-2008 08:47 PM
Motherboard for OCing the e8400 nOcLuE98 New Systems | Building and Buying 39 01-24-2008 03:26 PM
Hands-on With Optimus Maximus Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 11-22-2007 09:18 AM
New Asus Maximus Extreme dark strike1 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 11-22-2007 12:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.