e8400+ bios update? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2008, 05:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: e8400+ bios update?

I know, I had this one kid asking me what voltage to run at to get his 5000+ @ 3.2. How do I know, run prime95 and find out. They're not all the same
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 05:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: e8400+ bios update?

if it was the BE, he could just increase the multiplier and be on stock voltage

this also reminds me of something I saw on this site brb... lemme look it up

EDIT found it:

[New!]

A friend of mine had managed to order a new AMD CPU and a motherboard from another friend of ours that owned a computer store that, at the time, did not sell AMD, but was willing to get it in to help out my friend.

My friend picked up the gear and brought it around to my place, and we built the system together. Upon finishing it, we ran some test programs on it, and everything was fine. My friend then decided to check out the system properties. Windows XP told him that he had an AMD Athlon 1700+. Now, he knew he had bought a 2.4 gig CPU, and the 1700 was not fast enough, so, while I was out of the room, he went into the BIOS and changed the Front Side Bus to try to get it from 1700+ to 2.4 gig. Within a few moments, the PC died a horrible death.

He took the PC back to our friend's store, where it was dismantled. We found that the motherboard was fried and the CPU had small craters in it. The friend that owned the store managed to get a replacement motherboard and CPU. When the replacement gear arrived in the store, the store owner's assistant wrote in huge letter on the motherboard box, "Do Not Change FSB!!!"

So, after explaining to the friend, that Windows picks up the AMD as a 1700+ but it is still a 2.4 gig processor, and that the original PC was running optimally, we went back to my place and started installing the replacement gear. Everything was fine, and my friend was happy with the way everything ran but was convinced it still loaded programs quicker when he changed the FSB on the old PC that he fried. But he'd been told not to change the FSB, and so he didn't. He took the PC home.

The next weekend he told me he had changed the FSB again and fried another CPU and motherboard.

Source: Computer Stupidities: Hardware Abuse
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 07:14 PM   #13 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: e8400+ bios update?

Yep lots of those guys out there.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 07:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: e8400+ bios update?

LOL, why? I read and researched a ton before attempting to oc. Lazy kid's these days
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 08:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: e8400+ bios update?

nah I call them "n00bs or fr00bs or froobs or noobs or scrubs" or whichever term you'd like to use haha
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 08:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: e8400+ bios update?

dude you have way too much time on your hands
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 01:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: e8400+ bios update?

Quote:
LOL, why? I read and researched a ton before attempting to oc. Lazy kid's these days
[rant]amen to that. people can't take any initiative themselves these days.[/rant]

and vernon you do have to much time! you're lucky i like you with that spam
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 03:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: e8400+ bios update?

lol I was bored no hw (well I had some just didn't feel like doing it)

but Braz if you need an overclocking guide tell me on AIM, and I'll help you out (even though I haven't had that good of a system in so long)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:22 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: e8400+ bios update?

ok, how do update bios? i dont have a floppy drive, but i do have a flash drive if i can do it through that.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 01:17 PM   #20 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: e8400+ bios update?

you'll need
Support and Drivers - Transition Page
http://www.noxtek.com/panties/files/1/bootme.zip

Read
HOWTO: Make a bootable USB key (for flashing your BIOS, firmware, etc) - GameBeat Community
Someone should sticky this (not this exact thread) since alot of people do ask
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 12:51 PM
Possible to update Bios without Floppy? aetherh4cker Microsoft Windows and Software 5 01-09-2008 08:03 PM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM
Dell D820 Bios Update BubbaGump69 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-23-2007 08:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.