e8400 bad chip?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2008, 04:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default Re: e8400 bad chip??

thanks nagasama for ur quick reply..yes i will rma the rams first..thanks again=)
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 05:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: e8400 bad chip??


no problemo
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 05:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default Re: e8400 bad chip??

nagasama!!i dont think u expect me to come back that quick..but after reading up more on my board...i found out changing the Rcomp from auto to 3 or 4 makes its super stable and im able to run my rams at 1000mhz stable..but at 1000mhz..vdimm must be at around 2.13 ..i believe 1044 needs around 2.2V..but that shuld be okay right??
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 09:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: e8400 bad chip??

yes they can take 2.2V no problem.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 10:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: e8400 bad chip??

It is a pain to get the memory to work the the TP45, but it is far more likely that your memory is bad than the cpu or motherboard are faulty.

EDIT: What does rcomp stand for?
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 12:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: e8400 bad chip??

i was wondering the same. you have a tpower right, matt?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 12:42 AM   #17 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: e8400 bad chip??

Yup. I enabled it Rcomp config 3 ( i was on auto) and it hasn't changed anything as far as I can tell. I'll know more tomorrow when I do some runs with the sunbeam on.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 05:20 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default Re: e8400 bad chip??

erm..mine is a T-Series P45 boar not Tpower..yes i will rma the rams but not now..heheh..should i up the fsb voltage and chipset voltage to make my pc more stable...but its already stable running orthos for 9 hours++
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 09:36 AM   #19 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: e8400 bad chip??

Quote:
Originally Posted by galant_mod View Post
erm..mine is a T-Series P45 boar not Tpower..yes i will rma the rams but not now..heheh..should i up the fsb voltage and chipset voltage to make my pc more stable...but its already stable running orthos for 9 hours++
Same thing dude. You have the TP45 HP, so do I. the TP stands for Tpower. The T means it is T series.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel's Larrabee Multi-Core Chip Will Rock on Games maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2008 04:42 AM
e8400 vs e4300 andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 23 03-28-2008 01:56 AM
Bad HDD Causing Random Shutdowns? southpole_89 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-08-2008 02:50 AM
iifecca.dll - can't remove it, NOD32 says its bad? Akumajin Viruses, Spyware and Malware 3 10-05-2007 04:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.