E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2008, 10:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue

I have my E7200 processor that is normally 2.53 ghz stock running at 3.3ghz stock with some headroom in terms of temperature. I have my ram running on a FSB:RAM multiplier to keep it running close to 800mhz. This is the ram I have:

Newegg.com - A-DATA 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I want to overclock more but know that my ram might be an issue. In the reviews it says that it does not overclock well. Do I need to buy better ram before overclocking more? I don't really understand what having certain FSB:RAM ratios does to the operating conditions of the ram. I know that operating it at too high of a speed may not be possible, though. What should I be careful of when trying to overclock past 3.3ghz? How far should I be able to overclock before I need to start worrying about ram problems?

PS: I know i've had a lot of threads lately, but this is going to be my absolute last one. Promise. I have all other issues worked out. I recently upgraded my 480 watt psu to a 700watt one with fantastic amp ratings.
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue

i've had that ram before but it was a 667 and i got it up to like 880MHz on ram so i think you can go over that easily and make sure your fsb:ram ratio is 1:1 to maximize your overclock as most of the time ram is the factor that is stopping you from overclocking high.
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 11:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue

it depends what the ram chips are on it. i doubt that their good ones, but A-Data is generally decent quality and a bit above value ram. As advanced said throw the multi on 1:1 and crank it up. run prime95 to stress the ram and see if it crashes. if it does drop it down a bit and run it stable until you can scrape the cash together to get some better stuff
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 12:26 AM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue

The timings aren't great on them but it's expected. Try loosening them a little and then bring the CPU FSB up. Keep the CPU and RAM at independent speeds.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Re: E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue

I'm at 3.4Ghz with the a FSB:Ram ratio of 2.5. The ram is running at ~910mhz.
stainer711 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Re: E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue

I tired setting the FSB:RAM ratio to 1:1 @ 3.3 ghz 350FSB, and the ram couldn't handle it. I am currently clocked at 3.4ghz with a FSB:RAM ratio of 4:5. Would attaining a FSB:RAM ratio of 1:1 improve my system performance enough to warrant the purchase? I can easily fit this into my budget if so.
stainer711 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue

i'd say get some 1066mhz ram as it will give you more headroom to oc. and get a decent 2gb setup like some ocz reapers or golds.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Re: E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue

I'm not really interested in overclocking any more. I'm happy with a stable system at 3.4ghz. My temps are at a good range now. Will there be a difference in performance if I upgrade my ram if I don't plan on overclocking any more?
stainer711 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue

i ran those a-data sticks for allmost a year, they ran fine (but i didnt oc my cpu)

was able to sell them for not much of a loss too.

i see very little improvement from my A-Data ram compaired to me OCZ ram with better timings.

(keep in mind that my cpu isnt OC'd, im fine with 3.2, but 3.35 is max i could go anyways)
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 02:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Re: E7200 (2.53Ghz stock) pushed to 3.3 ghz stable.. want to push more but 1 issue

Ok, I just bought some DDR2 800 OCZ ram (the highest rated ram CompUSA had) at 4-4-4-15 timings, and I still have a FSB:RAM ratio of 4:5 with a total mhz of 910. In order to run at a 1:1 ratio and have it be 1088mhz do I need to loosen the timings?
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Processor run down VampD New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-28-2008 12:35 AM
Crysis 1.2 patch dario03 PC Gaming 34 08-29-2008 02:42 AM
Seeminly Unsolveable Problem! Reply ASAP! yoshi1476 Microsoft Windows and Software 44 06-13-2008 12:48 AM
Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz Puddle Jumper Overclocking and Modding 13 04-24-2008 11:45 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.