E6600 and temp programs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2006, 10:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 65
Default E6600 and temp programs

Just started OCing my new system after giving it a couple weeks for shakedown. Currently running at 334x9 for a 3ghz clock speed. Upped the RAM voltage to 2.0, set the frequency to auto, it's runnin 2:3 FSBRAM right now, also dropped the timings to their LISTED default of 5-5-5-12.

Im looking at the AI Utility, Speedfan, and Core Temp Beta .94.

ASUS AI says 51C cpu temp, Speedfan says 51C cpu temp, but Core Temp Beta is showing : TJunction-85C, Core0-42C, Core1-43C.

1) What is the TJunction temp in Core Temp Beta?
2) What are "high" "ZOMFGBBQedCPUtime!" and "safest-OCed" temps for the E6600?
3) Should I let the mobo automatically set the DRAM speed, or should I do it manually. This mobo doesnt seem to wanna give me 1:1 ratio by letting it do the ram frequency.
4) Im still running the stock intel heatsink, so im not looking for UC(Uberclocking)


ASUS P5B-E MOBO(**** AI NOS, I unlocked everything)
E6600 Conroe
Corsair XMS2(NOT PRO) PC2-6400 stock lsited timings of 5-5-5-12@1.8v
2 rear exhaust(1x90 1x120), 1 front intake(90), 1 top intake(90) in a Thermaltake Armor(****ing massive TANK) case.
OCZ 600W GameXstream PSU



She seems to be running stable and smooth right now. Need a bit of advice, then im gonna finish my OCing and run me some Prime95 for a bit.

EDIT: Since it's DDR, the frequency that CPU-Z shows(500mhz) has an effectice frequency of 1ghz right? So I toss the cpu frequency up to 400mhz, id wanna run the RAM frequency at 400mhz(DDR800 speed) to get a 1:1 ratio?
__________________

__________________
Zilveari is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 65
Default

UPDATE: Been doing a torture test with prime95 for about 3 hours now. CPU temp has topped out at 62, pretty much held steady at 62C for the past 2.5 hours while under full load (Core Beta has been showing the individual cores at 50-53). Looks like i'm going pretty good. Just gotta tweak the last of the settings(upping the cpu just a tad more, matching the RAM up to the CPU, then do an extended torture test, and a stress test, and a memtest)
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Pro SP2 | Thermaltake Armor Series | VA8000BWS Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Full Tower | Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe@2.4Ghz(OCed to 3.6Ghz) | Asus P5B-E | OCZ GameXStream 600W | Corsair 2x1GB PC2-6400 RAM running 4-4-4-12@800Mhz | WD Caviar 250GB 300MB/s SATA | eVGA 7600 GT 256MB@580Mhz(OCed to 675Mhz)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/181375065.png
Zilveari is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 01:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 65
Default

One more update for tonight. Gave myself a Black Screen of Death prePOST earlier, so I cleared the BIOS and tweaked the old settings a bit. dropped the multiplier, increased the bus, lowered the RAM timings, increased the RAM voltage and detuned the RAM bus.

Right now im holding at 73-74C in stress/torture tests(FULL LOAD as in taxing both cores 95%+

Conroe is running 3Ghz, RAM timings down to 4-4-4-12. Got a FSB:RAM Ratio of 1:1. had to lower my DDR800 to 748mhz to get the 1:1 ratio though. I'll probbaly do a stress test for performance and how well it does with what I usually do on my Pc tomorrow. Day full of WoW!

Btw sorry for all the clutter, but this is my first time OCing everything all by myself, and im a bit worried and excited about it. Dont wanna break anything, but I also wanna know im going about things the right way. I lowered the multiplier on the CPU so I could increase the frequency. Wanted a 1:1 FSB:RAM ratio that is closer to DDR2-800 speeds.


EDIT: Just for fun:
My Validated CPU-Z panel
__________________
Windows XP Pro SP2 | Thermaltake Armor Series | VA8000BWS Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Full Tower | Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe@2.4Ghz(OCed to 3.6Ghz) | Asus P5B-E | OCZ GameXStream 600W | Corsair 2x1GB PC2-6400 RAM running 4-4-4-12@800Mhz | WD Caviar 250GB 300MB/s SATA | eVGA 7600 GT 256MB@580Mhz(OCed to 675Mhz)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/181375065.png
Zilveari is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 04:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default

sorry for the lateness!! but you could get SIV to monitor your temps.. that what i always used with my 975x PUE

and if you don't mind my asking.. why is your multi at 8?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 05:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 65
Default

Dropped the multi to 8 to achieve higher clock speed on the CPU, and increase my RAM speed while staying at a 1:1 FSBRAM ratio
__________________
Windows XP Pro SP2 | Thermaltake Armor Series | VA8000BWS Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Full Tower | Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe@2.4Ghz(OCed to 3.6Ghz) | Asus P5B-E | OCZ GameXStream 600W | Corsair 2x1GB PC2-6400 RAM running 4-4-4-12@800Mhz | WD Caviar 250GB 300MB/s SATA | eVGA 7600 GT 256MB@580Mhz(OCed to 675Mhz)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/181375065.png
Zilveari is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.