E6600 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2007, 03:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default

I think I'll buy that Zalman... It looks pretty decent, 75 dollars, but I'm sure it'll be worth it when I'm done OCing.

p.s. augest, you have an intense rig, very nice .
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 04:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

I got mine from Newegg for like 65$.
__________________

augest is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 04:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 41
Default

zalman is a pretty heavy Heatskink fan, but by anymeans it wont be too heavy to injure your mobo. BTW about the fan fitting into your case what case are you using? most midtowers should be able to fit the fan, and also after installing my fan it can cut you very easily, so be careful.

if you do get the zalman, you have to take out your mobo before installing it (unless you have a huge full tower case). BTW, screwing the pins in is the hardest part because u have to push down the sharp metal sidings to screw the fan on, it really feels like someone is cutting your figers off.
__________________
----XPS m1710----
-intel® Core™ 2 Duo T7600 (2.33GHz, 4MB L2 Cache, 667 MHz FSB)
-2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ, 2 DIMM
-512MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ Go 7950 GTX
-WD 80GB 7200rpm SATA Hard Drive
-8X CD/DVD Burner (DVD+/-RW) with double-layer DVD+R
coleman is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 07:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

augest you did a great job with your wire management!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 12:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

yes very nice wire job. Haha i used cheap parts that are horrible to try to keep the wires out of the way (the inside looks horriblly jumbled lmao) heh but the system runs fast!! Either way very nice job on it man and even though the Zalman looks really nice I enjoy my Artic Freezer 7 that I payed 25 bucks for hah!!
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 01:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

That's still when I was putting it together. LMAO That's messy to what I have it at now.

I did find a pic that was taken when I turned it on for the first time to make shure everything worked before I added the rest. But I haven't taken any pic's since an I've changed the cable's around alot more where it's really clean in there. (Still not 100% happy with it though).

Click Here I'll have to take some more soon. I'm very up on making my case look as clean as I can. An thank's!
augest is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 01:31 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default I wish...

Quote:
Originally posted by Fayt19
i got mine to 3.2 easy but it doesnt want to go past that...might be a heat issue or maybe a memory issue..
I can't get past 3.03. **** pc won't boot beyond that mark. I think my motherboard is holding me back. Memory too. My goal was 3.2 on stock hsf. BTW, at idle with stock hsf, cpu doesn't go higher than 27c. Hasn't gone beyond 37c under stress. So my hurdle isn't heat. Anyway, I'm very content with those temps. IMO, it's not worth spending another $60 on a "better" hsf when my current temps are pretty low. It's a shame though I can't get past 3.03. I've read others have gone up to 3.4 on stock cooling.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 01:42 AM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by augest
Click Here[/url] I'll have to take some more soon. I'm very up on making my case look as clean as I can. An thank's!
dude i cant see sh*t in this picture...hah stick to the other one.
i can see that knight rider ram lit up inside, tho...woot.
can't stay long, i gotta get "cracken" so i can take the lead back from sora...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 02:12 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Yeah your right sorry, It was meant to show the case lit up, I thought you could see the wire's better. LOL Well just have to wait till I take some more. :P
__________________

augest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.