e6300 overclocking results - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 01:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

WOW! What HDD was it? so weak.. my W.D. takes tons of crashes per day [I mess alot with easy tune and overclocking... whenver you reach a limit or barrier it restarts] and it has no problems at all, gotta love Western Digital..

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 03:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

it was a Seagate :/

So basically my second WD 320GB drive came today. I still need the WD HD for this computer though, considering buying a third one since its so cheap and its so nice.

Will update you guys on OC results. From experience with the last OC, I think I''m gonna start with 300 BIOS OC and tweak all the way up to 400FSB which with be 2.8GHZ, I'll be happy with that on stock cooling.

On second thought, I'm going to do all OCing in BIOS, I don't wnat to risk another harddrive dieing from crashing.
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

The harddrive is perfectly fine, the filesystem is bad. A low level format should fix it.

Didn't read your second to last post RockyZ, so nevermind.
The General is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Good luck. If you run into any walls, check out this thread.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

hey idiotec, what do you think of these ram sticks: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034

Will they do to reach and pass the 400FSB+ with an E6400 and a DS4??

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
hey idiotec, what do you think of these ram sticks: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034

Will they do to reach and pass the 400FSB+ with an E6400 and a DS4??

-Jo.
I am sure they will do fine, but I don't have any experience with them myself. Most likely though, you will hit a FSB cap before you will max out the RAM, so I am sure they will keep up.

You may want to look at the GSkill HZ's, I know people are having really god success with them, and they were going for a little cheaper than those Corsair's, although I don't see them on Newegg any more.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

lol :X I Already got those RAM, look in my other thread I got in this section........... just wondering as i've heard they reach a maximum speed of 1300MHz at T2 5CAS. which is not bad IMO.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 05:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
lol :X I Already got those RAM, look in my other thread I got in this section........... just wondering as i've heard they reach a maximum speed of 1300MHz at T2 5CAS. which is not bad IMO.

-Jo.
Yeah, I just saw that thread

Yeah, those aren't bad results at all
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 07:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Alright got a problem The board won't go past 320FSB. I raised the FSB voltage but it just won't. Once at or past aroun 345, the computer will crash at Super Pi. Now easy tune wont even start.

I tried doing tweaks in the BIOS but the computer just resets the CPU speed everytime. I think I read something in that thread you posted, I'll go read it again and find out how to fix this.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 07:19 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Have you flashed with the new BIOS yet? Make sure you do that first. If you are going to flash with @BIOS, do it at stock speeds, NOT OC'd.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.