e6300 overclock temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2006, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default e6300 overclock temps

ive just downloaded pc wizard 2006 and am planning on overclocking my e6300 and i just wondered what resnable core temps are becuase currently mine are 58 and 59 degrees celcius at 100% load, while the "cpu" temp is only 26 dgrees celcius
__________________

El_Roberto is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 03:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

What you said is redundant.


What is your CPU's Idle and Load tempeture?
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default

it is 14 degrees celcius at idle and 26 degrees full load when using orthos
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

wow.

Those may be incorrect.

What cooling device are you using.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default

i got bored so i took a saw to the front of a cr*ppy old atx case and replaced it with 3 12cm fans, it has 3 slot fans 1 8cm exaust fan and two 8cm psu fans
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 01:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

hmm...i don't see how that could be right...i have a slightly different processor (E6400) and my temps idle before OCing were around 30 and 40 at load.

i have 2 120mm fans and a 250mm intake fan so i probably have you beat on cooling too so i really don't see how your temps could be so much lower.

I'd say if you want to know what you idle temps are then go into BIOS and look there. most motherboards have a temp monitoring dealio in BIOS so that'd probably have it in there and it should be more accurate than about anything else you could use.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 04:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default

hmm my bios says the same temp, my average room temp is no higher than 20 degrees celcius but it is usually around 14

i have oc'ed by 200mhz and the temp under full load is around 34-37 degrees i think ill leave it at that for now because the core temps are getting higher than 70 degrees
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 09:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Default

its NOT incorrect.... these CPU's run seriously cool. mine is the same at stick with a stock heatsink on (e6600). I put a sonic tower on it and its currently at 3.3 ghz idle at 26 degrees. - But you have to use very little mounting/thermal paste.... its a real world of difference. Just a tiny thin layer... not like the ammount on the stock heat sink... which if you ask me is far too much. Dont get a sonic tower tho.. whilst the cooling in great... the attachement is a total joke... and you will risk breaking your board (775). --- I used a long wooden stick and a TINY screwdriver i got in a cracker last year.... its a total **** up. --- If you dont believe me plz try it. I did it... but never again. Max - Msci Geology
__________________
Max
Max2559 is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 12:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default

gee mz pc should arrive on monday so ill post my CPU temp at idle and load for the E6600
__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 03:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default

yea i think that installing the stock hsf is a joke too when i went to put it in it took me bout half an hour and i nearly broke my $400 mb, turns out that the little things you got to push down had turned around during shipping or sumthing and they were in the wrong position!
__________________

El_Roberto is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.