E6300 or E6400 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2006, 06:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default E6300 or E6400

I am building a System with Core to Duo in it. I will overclock it... Would a E6300 be better for overclocking than a E6400... And also what are the highest they can be overclocked
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

well if the extra $xx isnt a prob, get the 6400, i dunno but this is how amd does it, the more stable the core, the higher chip it gets labled as, so a higher clocked card will be more stable MOST, NOT all the time, but its a factor with selection.
__________________

__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I hear the e6300 can get in range of 3.0ghz on stock.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 07:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

the e6400 has a higher multi so its easier to get itto a higher clock speed than the e6300 because for the same ram clock you get a higher clockspeed on the e6400 chip.

i know some one else can put it in better words but thats basicly it.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

with ddr800 ram the e6300 is 2.8ghz at a 1:1 "divider" and the e6400 is 3.2 ghz with the divider. the only differece with the e6400 is the 8x multiplier instead of the 7x that the e6300 has.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 08:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

as i said better explanation well put thats what i ment will h4x 4 food
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 01:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

3 ghz of intel for 180 bucks = 3.9 GHz of AMD. Buy it....and own those FX pricks lol. (my amd isn't too great either lol)
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.