E2160 @ 2.8Ghz @ 70C Load. This OK? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2007, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default E2160 @ 2.8Ghz @ 70C Load. This OK?

After learning how to overclock in the other topic (much thanks to Merkwürdigliebe) I have settled at 2.8Ghz (312x9) for my E2160. On load the temperature goes to 72 maxiumum, with it normally hovering round 68C to70c. Voltage is 1.45. I had CoreTemp recording temps as I played the Crysis demo.

So how is this?

Thanks.
__________________

westy159 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 12:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: E2160 @ 2.8Ghz @ 70C Load. This OK?

I wouldnt be comfortable at that temp. Are you sure it isnt stable at a lower voltage?

Also, what cooler do you have?
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: E2160 @ 2.8Ghz @ 70C Load. This OK?

Stock cooling.

It was unstable at 1.325 so I set it to 1.5 then 1.45, those two have been fine. Ill try 1.4
westy159 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: E2160 @ 2.8Ghz @ 70C Load. This OK?

You should get some aftermarket cooling definately. Do you want to make an offer on my AF7? It destroys stock cooling. £15?
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 12:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: E2160 @ 2.8Ghz @ 70C Load. This OK?

you should be able to clock it to 3.3 on stock air.. lemme see if I can pull up a guide for the settings on it. also what board do you have?

in a pc mag i have they have the settings for thier e2160 at 1.56 (voltage) and 375/9 (fsb/multiplier) and they used a 2/L2 revision cpu.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 12:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: E2160 @ 2.8Ghz @ 70C Load. This OK?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
You should get some aftermarket cooling definately. Do you want to make an offer on my AF7? It destroys stock cooling. 15?
Most deff get some aftermarket cooling. Best thing that happened to my PC since I bought a 8800GTS 640mb. Lowered my temps 10C. Really wonderful investment for a little piece of mind.
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 12:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: E2160 @ 2.8Ghz @ 70C Load. This OK?

Mobo is Gigabyte DS3L and I also have the L2 revision.
Ill look into the aftermarket cooling.

Cheers.
westy159 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 12:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: E2160 @ 2.8Ghz @ 70C Load. This OK?

you should definitely be able to hit 3+ with that board and aftermarket cooling. have fun !
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Idle load difference san21893 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 08-25-2007 01:42 PM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750(2) mtslegacy Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-14-2007 09:48 AM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750 mtslegacy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-14-2007 01:57 AM
Cant load XP on vista laptop??? Is this true? jdmhotness Laptops and Notebooks 5 08-07-2007 04:37 PM
E2140 and E2160 released today maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-05-2007 09:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.