E2140 Temps sooooo high?!?!?!?! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2008, 11:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: E2140 Temps sooooo high?!?!?!?!

You have integrated graphics, which implies that you have a low end and or oem motherboard, which explains why you cant oc well. it isn't worth it to get a good s939 mobo so if you want to OC then I would recommend you wait until your next build.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 12:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: E2140 Temps sooooo high?!?!?!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcovalt View Post
Stupid mobo of mine won't let me past like 2.6 ghz

I should've been able to go very high now that my temps are undercontrol, but oh well.
2.6ghz isn't bad for an Intel Core2Duo.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 01:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: E2140 Temps sooooo high?!?!?!?!

His sig says Athlon 64, so which one is he talking about? I am so confused.

And yeah 2.6ghz is bad for a core2, even the lowest of low ends can hit 3ghz.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 01:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: E2140 Temps sooooo high?!?!?!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
And yeah 2.6ghz is bad for a core2, even the lowest of low ends can hit 3ghz.
Read the title of the thread. Also if 2.6ghz is as high as he can go. Then he'll have to live with it. But 2.6ghz should be able to handle gaming, multitasking, and etc.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 01:51 AM   #15 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: E2140 Temps sooooo high?!?!?!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Read the title of the thread. Also if 2.6ghz is as high as he can go. Then he'll have to live with it. But 2.6ghz should be able to handle gaming, multitasking, and etc.
Tru lol, he needs to update his sig.

2.6ghz is a fine speed sure. What I mean is, as far as average overclocks go, and what most people can be expected to reach, 2.6ghz is pretty lousy. He can do better if he fixes the cooling issue.

And using something a bit more adept than a G31 wouldn't hurt either.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 01:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: E2140 Temps sooooo high?!?!?!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcovalt View Post
Stupid mobo of mine won't let me past like 2.6 ghz

I should've been able to go very high now that my temps are undercontrol, but oh well.
His motherboard is holding him back. Thats why I m not advising him to go for 3.0ghz+

Sad to see his motherboard holding his CPU back
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 09:48 AM   #17 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: E2140 Temps sooooo high?!?!?!?!

Well it is a G31 man. The lowest of the low ends for this current gen of Intel motherboards.


Also I'm no expert on Current AMD boards but, is Foxconn really a good brand to go with?

he also has this option.
Newegg.com - ASUS M3A78-EM AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 09:24 PM   #18 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: E2140 Temps sooooo high?!?!?!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcovalt View Post
I use to get very low temps on my processor (40C-50C) and that was at 2.5 GHz. Now if I OC it to 2.5 GHz I get past 70C

The only thing I've done recently is put some MX-2 (rice grain-pea size shape on center of processor and pressed heatsink on) and upgraded mobo bios (GIGABYTE GA-G31M-S2L). What would cause this temp rise? I have the voltage control set to auto in the BIOS. Could this be the cause?


CPU-Z
We are dealing with a E2140 you keep spacing out Zmatt lol. As far as Intel mother boards go. Thats your area so find him a nice one
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 09:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: E2140 Temps sooooo high?!?!?!?!

lol sorry dude. I dunno whats going on. Ill dig sumthin up in a sec.


OK, I was told by a reliable source that this is a good P35 to go with.

Newegg.com - ABIT IP35P LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 10:49 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: E2140 Temps sooooo high?!?!?!?!

hahahahahahaha... oh oh my, that was hilarious to read. my sig is a joke. windows me? cmon, seriously? it's not the first time that has caused confusion though, haha, I should probably change it.

anyway, I did fix my temps (post #6), and the reason my mobo is holding me back is because a 2.66 ram multiplier and a 8x cpu freq multiplier doesn't go well together. i'll probably spend the cash on a new cpu with a higher frequency multiplier before I go and grab a new board (I like mine). The main thing I wanted to do was lower my temps which i did do thank goodness.

2.6 is fine for now on my e2140. I could really give my ram a run for their monies and go for 2.75, but i think i'll keep 2.6
__________________

__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Speedfan showing high temps.. Demalii Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2008 06:30 PM
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high. Disillusion Overclocking and Modding 19 03-03-2008 01:13 PM
x1600 pro 512mb temps too high? braz Overclocking and Modding 3 01-23-2008 09:58 AM
hard drive temps high siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-27-2007 10:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.