E2140 OC'ing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2008, 12:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default E2140 OC'ing

So, I got my new build. I own the Xigmatek cooler (recently reviewed here at tech-forums) paired with the E2140. Fist off, I am a complete newb to oc'ing and I have a few questions. My idle temps at stock were 25C-26C. Full load= 32C-33C. I raised the FSB I think to 335 mhz and got 2.7 ghz. That pushed my RAM to 900 mhz. My temps were idle=33C full load= 50C-51C. I have heard of these processors going to 3.0 ghz on stock vcore. Since the multiplier is eight, that means my FSB would be set at 375 mhz. However, if I do this my ram would be set at around 1000 mhz or so. Is this safe?

I own the Newegg.com - A-DATA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
and the: Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-G31M-S2L LGA 775 Intel G31 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail.

Also, will raising the vcore increase performance? Thanks for the help.
__________________

__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 12:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: E2140 OC'ing

raising the V core increases Stability when you mem test or orthos fails.

and your ram isnt that great but i think it could handle it
don't go over the ram's manufacturers recommended volts or you'll void the warranty.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 12:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: E2140 OC'ing

i dont think i have control over the ram volts. the mobo has it on auto.
__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 12:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: E2140 OC'ing

you can change it but just leave it auto. and only play with the FSB for now. until you start getting to higher clocks.

and yes you can hit over 2.8 on stock volts.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: E2140 OC'ing

nice. also, i have my cpu fan right up to my psu fan. did i install the cooler wrong way?
__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 11:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: E2140 OC'ing

you should probably point the CPU cooler fan towards the back of the Case.
Could you post some pics of the inside?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 02:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: E2140 OC'ing

You can see the cpu fan and the PSU fan might be fighting over the air...



__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 02:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: E2140 OC'ing

If you can mount it so the fan blows out the exhaust it would work alot better. Try tucking those wires in an empty bay or get some zip ties. Its gonna affect your airflow. Change your cpu:dram divider so it doesnt hit 1000mhz when you up the fsb. You can also play around with the divider trying to keep as close to 800mhz as possible
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 04:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: E2140 OC'ing

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
If you can mount it so the fan blows out the exhaust it would work alot better.
Ok. I just did that, lowered my temps about 10C :



Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
Try tucking those wires in an empty bay or get some zip ties. Its gonna affect your airflow.
Just did that too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
Change your cpu:dram divider so it doesnt hit 1000mhz when you up the fsb. You can also play around with the divider trying to keep as close to 800mhz as possible
Unfortunately I can't do that:

I am stuck at 2.66.

Should I not go any higher than where I am with the RAM (900 mhz)? (btw, thanks for all of you guys'es help!)
__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 04:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: E2140 OC'ing

The fact that you are limited in FSB:RAM ratios will severely limit your overclocking ability.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying a mobo, CPU and RAM for ocing thenovices New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-14-2007 01:14 AM
Best Budget OCing CPU dave39 Overclocking and Modding 2 10-09-2007 12:21 AM
OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 45 08-25-2007 05:23 AM
Vista Ocing nerdygeek Overclocking and Modding 4 08-05-2007 07:03 PM
E2140 and E2160 released today maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-05-2007 09:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.