Dusty Case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2004, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 50
Default Dusty Case

Hi people,

Im not sure if i'm posting in the correct thread but here goes.

I built my own computer and have had it for about 9 months. I recently opened up the side panel of the case to neaten up the wires inside.

However I found that alot of dust had accumulated inside especially near the fans.

There is also quite a bit of dust on the actual mother board. I know i'm no expert but this cant be good.

I need tp know how to clean up all of the dust inside the case, is there a special way that this can be done, so as to not damage any of the internal componants?

:beard:
__________________

TeCk_N is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 07:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Just use a shopvac and suck away, don't blow it out, that can cause alot of unwanted dust settling everywhere.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 07:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Use a compressed air can while having a vacuum close by.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 07:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Everytime I've used a compressed aircan, I get a face full of dust and it's not pretty. Also the cans alot of the time aren't powerful enough for me.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

yes, go to wal mart and get this stuff(cause it is the cheapest), damn walmart, the site was down when i posted this. but the stuff you want is called clean safe.
http://www.iqproducts.com/new/cleans...nsafe_home.htm
it doesn't have to be this product, as long as it is a can. it is also call a can of air.
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 09:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

yea can of air works great.. you don't just pull the trigger and let loose on the demons, you have to have skills to use this all mighty "can o' air".. typically start from the top down, going from one side to another as to get all the dust into the same general area, then you can either blow it all out easily or just use a vacuum and suck it out.. A vacuum with a brush like head on works well also on cards, but be careful, don't break any capacitors off
Demalii is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 11:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

I bought this litle gadget that blows the junk. It runs on batteries. I think I got it @ Office Max. It's pretty ok, but...about the vaccum part. Hmmmm...guess I need to get a little gadget that sucks the junk now. lol
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 04:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
A vacuum with a brush like head on works well also on cards, but be careful, don't break any capacitors off
I've heard the bristles aren't good for the tiny copper paths and such on your equipment. Just get the compressed air and use the little tube they always come with. That gives a direct and powerful blast of air and will clean away any dirt.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 11:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

wow.. good info, ty
Demalii is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 05:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

The thing with a vacuum cleaner is the bristles. They develop tremendous amount of static electricity and can damage the parts on your MOBO and accessories. Use at your own risk. I prefer to blow it away. No, dust is no good since it prevents good airflow and keeps the heat inside.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.