Dummy overclock - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2009, 03:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Dummy overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
60C is definitely safe. Always a good number to stay under.

The i7 can take a bit more heat than a quad core with one core disabled due to manufacturing defects.
Ouch!

However, i'd run prime longer than an hour. IntelBurn test is better for quick checks.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 03:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: Dummy overclock

how about idle temps? 50 is fine wile overclocked at 3.6?
__________________

NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 03:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Dummy overclock

Sure if load stays under 65-70C

Idle means squat honestly, loads key.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 08:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Dummy overclock

If your idling at 50C you've got a problem.

Chances are your pushing too much voltage through the chip, or your heatsink just can't keep up.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 10:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Dummy overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
If your idling at 50C you've got a problem.

Chances are your pushing too much voltage through the chip, or your heatsink just can't keep up.
i would agree here, for the most part, imo anything under 40c is a ok idle temp. and many people idle below 30C on air with an oc.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 12:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: Dummy overclock

dummy overclocked at 3.2 running prime95 64bit about right?
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 12:49 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Dummy overclock

At 3.2? Those temps are ridiculous. Those are with a Dark Knight?
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 12:51 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: Dummy overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
At 3.2? Those temps are ridiculous. Those are with a Dark Knight?
yeah
maybe im doing something wrong?
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 01:02 AM   #19 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Dummy overclock

real temp is reporting your cpu clocked @ 3.35

and speedfan, is fan 1 your cpu fan? or is that fan 4?
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 01:05 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: Dummy overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by tastegw View Post
real temp is reporting your cpu clocked @ 3.35

and speedfan, is fan 1 your cpu fan? or is that fan 4?
i belive its 1 i doubt the stock cpu fan will spin at over 4k rpm
__________________

NYbadboy911 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XFX 9800 GT Wont overclock (Again, perhaps its my CPU) TekBubs Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-21-2009 04:11 PM
OverClock Checking Tool Osiris Overclocking and Modding 10 03-30-2008 10:01 AM
Can you overclock on an ASUS P5B SE? Wease Overclocking and Modding 8 02-13-2008 07:37 AM
How do I overclock? Noak3 Overclocking and Modding 1 02-03-2008 06:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.