Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2007, 11:51 AM   #31 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

i just cut the power switch cable on my case, soldered it back together and whola it works!
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 05:52 AM   #32 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by motoxer4533 View Post
Why don't you pay attention to those and learn what a run-on is! Lol. That's one of your worst, I must say.
It was late when I wrote the reply. I am normally quite good on spelling and grammar
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 04:29 PM   #33 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

Ohh! I got one! On my old Full Tower Antec I somehow broke the power button. So I put the reset button on the power pins and now use my reset button as my power button! Woo go me!

Best part is, if that happened to the typical PC user, they would probably buy a new PC or call Dell/HP/Lenovo.
muckluck is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 05:02 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

I ran my OS from an SD-based mp3 player for 2 weeks when my HD failed.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 05:04 PM   #35 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinson View Post
I ran my OS from an SD-based mp3 player for 2 weeks when my HD failed.
Windows or *nix?
muckluck is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 05:27 PM   #36 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

im guessing nix
Nick is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 05:39 PM   #37 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

As am I, but was wondering if it was possilbe to do it with Windows. I have puppy linux on a USB stick for just in case purposes.
muckluck is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 05:58 PM   #38 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

doubt you could with windows, i think i tried it on my Ipod once and it didnt show up as a drive
Nick is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 06:14 PM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

It was Ubuntu Linux. Though it could be done with windows via BARTpe I believe.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 11:17 PM   #40 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

lol. I got one. My old pc had a crummy amd stock heatsink, and i was waiting for my case to come in, so i decided to try and put my scythe ninja on my skt A board, and to my suprise, the heatpipes were getting caught on some of the capacitors. so I desoldered about three of them, got some cat5 wires and made about a 3in extention peice for each one. it worked for about a week, then i look into the case, see it drop down, hit my fan, rip the wire, pos wire slings into case, and frys processor....tsk tsk tsk ductape, your sposed to hold everything. (i dont think my lazyness to solder wrong helped either, one drop and tape usualy holds everything.

then my power button broke so i went to the garage and got a big red killswitch from a weedeater and put it on there, ooh then I put a 120mm fan onto a 7,200rpm hdd motor. it ram good for about a minute, then the motor got hot and melted the hot glue, and the **** fan took off like a ufo and hit a picture, knocking it off the wall and shattering the fan into peices. that was funny, where was my camera when i needed it? oh yea, locked in my paranoid fathers room.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this work?? mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 32 08-16-2007 02:54 PM
Trying to get a D-link wireless router to work Inziladun Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 06-04-2007 04:33 PM
My Old 98-95 computer wont work..read on....... bacus23 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 04:39 PM
USB Mice Don't Work - Everything Else USB Does. Blizzard596 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.