Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2007, 12:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

Title explains it all.
Personally my worst mod was i took an old dell that was my grandmothers, and put it in an antec case. But Dell is the greatest pioneer of computer development and had an all cable hook up from the mobo to the power button. So to get the computer to work, i trashed the dell case cause thats what i do to things i love, i had to thread the power "strip" all the way back through the case, across some fans, under some ram, over a gpu and cpu, out a pci opening, and now i have to keep it off my carpet or else my computer will get zapped by static electricity and turn off. Its lots of fun for people who want to turn on the 3 monitor set up, but they can't figure out how.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 01:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

wtf are you taliking about? lol i just had to ask.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

lmao im completely lost. haha
Static_11 is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 03:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

Unsafely restarting, wow i live on the edge.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

I once modded a cooler for a TNT2 so I could overclock it further.

I put a northbridge cooler on the TNT2 (much bigger than the extremely crappy little cooler it came with)

then I cut up the lid of a 50 pack of CD-R's, and turned it into a fan duct

then I stuck a 120mm fan on the side of the card, using the duct I made. Then I used another 90mm fan for the back of it.

I used masking tape to hold it all together

I had pushed that card from having a 3dmark01 score of around 900 or so, to over 1600 (coupled with a Pentium 3 Coppermine at 1050MHZ)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 12:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

I cut up one of those PCI slot fans that blows out the back of your computer to use on a videocard.

The aftermarket fan i put on my X850XT went out and i could not find a replacement. So i removed the old fan and "modded" the PCI slot fan to do the job. About 1/2 a tube of epoxy and some serious southern engineering and it was back up and running.

One added bonus was the tempuratures actually went down a couple of degrees after the mod. * says to self "i'm awesome!" *
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 05:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

I haven't had to ghetto-rig stuff to make it work, though I have had an assortment of ... weird little mods, most involving fans. I went crazy with fans at one point.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 01:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

I was at a LAN party and we had a small airconditioner mounted in the window, I had the seat right next to it Sweet! I said! But it blew right on my ear and that was not comfy with my headphones so I cut the top of a plastic cookie box from Publix in half and used it point the air flow up and away from my frozen ear. It may not be exatcly what you were looking for but it did help lower the ambient temp of the room because I wasnt blocking air flow anymore, which could of helped with some oc's in the room... but im just reaching for that.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 02:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuaziBee View Post
It may not be exatcly what you were looking for but it did help lower the ambient temp of the room because I wasnt blocking air flow anymore, which could of helped with some oc's in the room... but im just reaching for that.
You blocked airflow? I figured it would go in one ear and out the other

sorry had to lol
__________________
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 02:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Dumbest Mod you've made to get your pc to work?

haha! I usually wear my headphones so that pink goo doesn't leak out my ears.
__________________

__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this work?? mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 32 08-16-2007 02:54 PM
Trying to get a D-link wireless router to work Inziladun Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 06-04-2007 04:33 PM
My Old 98-95 computer wont work..read on....... bacus23 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 04:39 PM
USB Mice Don't Work - Everything Else USB Does. Blizzard596 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.