Dual Psu's???? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2007, 12:06 AM   #21 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default oh yea, triple psu's

i had to do something like that once, but it was risky, oh so risky, see this is what i did. i have a 2.1 celeron with no psu. i got a 175w 200w and a 250w. none of the psu's would turn it on. the 250w was literally one hdd away, it would turn on, as soon as that hdd got power it shut off. so i had one psu for the drives, one for the 20 pin and p4 connector. then the 250w still didn't have enough power, so i bit the nail and put the p4 connector on the 175w and the 20pin on the 250w and the 200w for the drives, and guess what: it booted, but oh man was it ugly, there was a stack of psu's bolted to the outside of the case with wires routing out the back of the case thru the original psu location.

the tricky part is timing for crucial system components(unless u got a multi-output toggle switch, common connector and 5 output connectors with one button to turn em all on), but for fans, y not?

but if not necessary, then i say don't: its just 1 more thing that can go wrong. so if ur system is struggling for power, and u got money, just get a better psu.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 02:21 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 173
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

is this the sort of thing you're looking for?
Cooler Master Parts Shop
__________________

__________________
e6700 @ 3.0ghz stock cooling
bfg nforce 680i
dual bfg 8800gtx
Corsair XMS2-6400 C4 TwinX PC2-6400 2GB
Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 16MB Cache SATA-II x2
Enermax Galaxy 850W
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue 2000dpi Gaming Mouse
Saitek Eclipse 2 Illuminated Keyboard
NEC LCD20WGX2 Silver Widescreen 20" TFT Monitor
crward is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 11:34 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

don't do it. its about as practical as my friends computer. He put special bag inside that reacts well with heat and put LIVE fish inside. It's an amazing case, but its practically useless..

At least his looks cool = /

[Snipped]

good luck.
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 11:35 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

LMAO...the biggest problem I think you'll face is this:

1.) you risk having a crap PSU for your fans and it dies and screws up your whole rig

2.) you have a nice PSU that should probably be powering an entire computer

either way it's kinda dumb but I'd still like to see the outcome...and it might be something worth looking into with how much power the graphics cards coming out are needing.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 02:56 PM   #25 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
[Snipped]

just put it on there if you want to, man. its your case.
post some pictures when you're done.
yeah exactly you do what the f**** you want to your computer dont listen to people trying to stop you it will look **** cool when its finished
Nick is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 07:01 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

To the OP:

If you really want to do it, go for it. Dont listen to every one telling you its stupid or a waste of money.

Now for some advice from some one who used to do this:

I had dual PSUs in my old Barton box. I had all the fans and fan controllers on the secondary PSU. The only fan on the system PSU was the CPU HSF. I could turn off the second PSU when I wanted my system silent and not worry about the CPU over heating. This is nice if you sleep in the same room as your pc or just dont like the noise when you are doing 2D low load apps.

I ran this set up for over a year with out any problem. I had a 400w PSU for my Asus MoBo, OCed Barton 3000+, six hard drive, tv tuner, sound card, and optical drives. I used an older 300w PSU for the numerous 80mm case fans I had to cool the rig with.

In my new C2D rig I dont have any need for this since everything runs cool and quiet on just two case fans, everything else is passive.

So I would say go for it. If you really want to do something different then just ignore what others say. Its not going to ruin any hardware, and its fun to mod and tinker with a PC.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 08:12 PM   #27 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

^^word^^
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 08:16 PM   #28 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

i agree. this brings me up to one thing: if you are using a psu just for the fans and one just for the main conponents, on the main psu, have 2 fans, the cpu fan, and a backup fan, like for exhaust, a low airflow or controlled 80mm+ fan. i have this going, i have my fan controller with my psu fan, rear case fan, and a front fan. then i have a backup 92mm fan on the side panel that is just enough to keep the pc from melting down if something happens, and this also enables me to have all the fans off resulting in a silent & dark pc (my fan lights run off my psu fan connector because if those go out then i know i got a problem. sorry if i dont make sense, but i got one heck of a cold that makes me sneeze every 20 or so secconds...makes me double type letters, lol n on top of it all i got a headache.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 03:15 AM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

yeah, that would be a pretty good idea...but I guess you covered that with your case lighting being hooked up to the other PSU as well as fans.
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual boot xp and vista mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 7 09-25-2007 06:49 PM
Dual monitor on one VGA cable M2k4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 12:32 PM
Dual core vs SLI in gaming laptop brother2angel New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-11-2007 07:41 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM
getting rid of a dual boot screen? TimBlanchard Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-04-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.