Dual Psu's???? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2007, 11:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

I don't see why it wouldn't be safe... But you'll have a ton of extra cords to have to hide and deal with. I hope you went with Modular psu's.
__________________

augest is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 11:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

Yeah, If you want to mod out your case, Go with something more useful. Or at least more practical.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 11:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

Brodie, this probably isn't a good idea. YES, there isn't anything wrong with dual PSU's, but it is in the implimentation. A dual setup with a REDUNDANT PSU would be a cool mod. I agree with some of the previous posts about this not being a very good idea.

The major problem with this, is that EVERY source of cooling in the case will be linked to a PSU other than what the rest of the components are linked to. What will you do if something should happen, and power is cut to the "cooling" PSU (such as if that unit is unplugged, or if someone switches it off).? Then your main components will be left running with only a heatsink for cooling.

The second problem, is that the PCI power connection bracket you linked, is for linking power to the OUTSIDE of the case. So you would have to mod that panel to switch around the connections. You would be better off modding a PCI slot filler plate to do the same thing, and save the $6.

Lastly, let say hypothetically you DID do this? Why on Earth would you want the PSU to be OUTSIDE of the case. I personally would likely find it to be an unsightly mod. It would look better on the inside.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 11:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

You can do this and it will be safe unless something like Ethereal stated happens. Safe for the most part but stupid if you don't NEED to do it.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 12:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 105
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

I made up this pic for you guys I just wanted you all to better understand what I am doing....


http://www.xtremegamersunited.com/images/casemod.bmp
__________________
[XGU] XTREME GAMERS UNITED
BattleField 2 Clan
Visit Us @ www.xtremegamersunited.com
Ventrilo @ 69.56.237.18:5157

Thermaltake Armor Jr.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 - ASUS P5N32-E SLI
2Gigs OCZ DDR2 800Mhz Dual Channel - BFG 8800GTS OC2 320MB PCIe FTW~
Sound Blaster Audigy 4 - Thermaltake 850WATT PSU
Dell 19" LCD - Logitech G11 Keyboard
Logitech G7 Mouse - Logitech X-540 5.1 Speakers
Seagate 320Gb Sata Hard Drive - LG 18X DVD-RW Sata
Windows Vista Ultimate X64Bit - Qck+ Steel Mouse Pad
brodieman is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 01:03 AM   #16 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

i kinda saw that picture in my head already but the picture comfirms it

if you really need the extra 700watts then go for it.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 01:09 AM   #17 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

I mean its a nice mod but I would do it only if you really need the extra watts as someone said.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 01:37 AM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

[Snipped]

just put it on there if you want to, man. its your case.
post some pictures when you're done.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 07:21 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 105
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

SEE.... NOW THATS WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT... LOL Thanks...

I will totally post picks infact here is one now

fresh out of the box... oh baby

www.xtremegamersunited.com/images/DSCF0289.JPG

www.xtremegamersunited.com/images/DSCF0279.JPG
__________________
[XGU] XTREME GAMERS UNITED
BattleField 2 Clan
Visit Us @ www.xtremegamersunited.com
Ventrilo @ 69.56.237.18:5157

Thermaltake Armor Jr.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 - ASUS P5N32-E SLI
2Gigs OCZ DDR2 800Mhz Dual Channel - BFG 8800GTS OC2 320MB PCIe FTW~
Sound Blaster Audigy 4 - Thermaltake 850WATT PSU
Dell 19" LCD - Logitech G11 Keyboard
Logitech G7 Mouse - Logitech X-540 5.1 Speakers
Seagate 320Gb Sata Hard Drive - LG 18X DVD-RW Sata
Windows Vista Ultimate X64Bit - Qck+ Steel Mouse Pad
brodieman is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 09:17 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

i'm sorry but i think this is just a waste of money. i agree with Ethereal_Dragon. the only use of having dual power supplies is where one is redundant. so yes it is a case mod and if that brings you satisfaction then go for it and you can be happy with the result and that's fine . however it lacks purpose, it won't look pretty and it will make clutter.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual boot xp and vista mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 7 09-25-2007 06:49 PM
Dual monitor on one VGA cable M2k4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 12:32 PM
Dual core vs SLI in gaming laptop brother2angel New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-11-2007 07:41 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM
getting rid of a dual boot screen? TimBlanchard Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-04-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.