Dual Psu's???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2007, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 105
Default Dual Psu's????

As the title says...

Thanks in advance

So I think my idea is simple. I want to hook up dual psu's. One internal and one external. I have read so many topics regarding this and how many different ways to do it. I have decided to go ahead with the jump mod by taking a small piece of wire to the 24 pin motherboard connector. Using the wire on the black and ground wire, I am able to use the rear switch on the back as on/off. Now my idea is to only use the second psu for all my fans IE:::

1X Zalman CPU Fan
1X Zalman GPU Fan
3X 120mm 4 LED Fans
3---6 80mm 4 LED Fans
And final a neon blue light 10"

I will mount the PSU outside my case and in NO WAY will it be connected to my major pc components. I am buying some PCI power brackets to get the power inside the case. With those I am able to remove the exterior cable and move my tower with ease.

Bracket on ebay…..
eBay.ca: PCI Power Bracket (2X4Pin & 2X3pin connectors) O302 (item 230100479229 end time 03-May-07 23:53:03 EDT)



I want to know if this is safe.
__________________

__________________
[XGU] XTREME GAMERS UNITED
BattleField 2 Clan
Visit Us @ www.xtremegamersunited.com
Ventrilo @ 69.56.237.18:5157

Thermaltake Armor Jr.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 - ASUS P5N32-E SLI
2Gigs OCZ DDR2 800Mhz Dual Channel - BFG 8800GTS OC2 320MB PCIe FTW~
Sound Blaster Audigy 4 - Thermaltake 850WATT PSU
Dell 19" LCD - Logitech G11 Keyboard
Logitech G7 Mouse - Logitech X-540 5.1 Speakers
Seagate 320Gb Sata Hard Drive - LG 18X DVD-RW Sata
Windows Vista Ultimate X64Bit - Qck+ Steel Mouse Pad
brodieman is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

Umm why isn't one enough, unless they are 100 watts each or something?
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 09:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 105
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

hence the forum topic...

Overclocking, Case Mod, Tweaking PC Performance

Anyone??
__________________
[XGU] XTREME GAMERS UNITED
BattleField 2 Clan
Visit Us @ www.xtremegamersunited.com
Ventrilo @ 69.56.237.18:5157

Thermaltake Armor Jr.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 - ASUS P5N32-E SLI
2Gigs OCZ DDR2 800Mhz Dual Channel - BFG 8800GTS OC2 320MB PCIe FTW~
Sound Blaster Audigy 4 - Thermaltake 850WATT PSU
Dell 19" LCD - Logitech G11 Keyboard
Logitech G7 Mouse - Logitech X-540 5.1 Speakers
Seagate 320Gb Sata Hard Drive - LG 18X DVD-RW Sata
Windows Vista Ultimate X64Bit - Qck+ Steel Mouse Pad
brodieman is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 09:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

I understand that this is the Overclocking, Case Mod, Tweaking PC Performance forum, I am just asking why you need to do this.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 09:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 105
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

Truly

Because I am into case mods and I think this is kewl. next.....

Anyone know if it is safe?
__________________
[XGU] XTREME GAMERS UNITED
BattleField 2 Clan
Visit Us @ www.xtremegamersunited.com
Ventrilo @ 69.56.237.18:5157

Thermaltake Armor Jr.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 - ASUS P5N32-E SLI
2Gigs OCZ DDR2 800Mhz Dual Channel - BFG 8800GTS OC2 320MB PCIe FTW~
Sound Blaster Audigy 4 - Thermaltake 850WATT PSU
Dell 19" LCD - Logitech G11 Keyboard
Logitech G7 Mouse - Logitech X-540 5.1 Speakers
Seagate 320Gb Sata Hard Drive - LG 18X DVD-RW Sata
Windows Vista Ultimate X64Bit - Qck+ Steel Mouse Pad
brodieman is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 10:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

I'm with j369852147412, I don't see the point in having an extra PSU just to run a couple of fans. I'd say go with a better PSU if your current one isn't giving you enough power.
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 105
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

How about someone just answer my question????

Your point is well taking but I am looking to MOD... Not recieve peoples opinion..

Once agan is it safe??
__________________
[XGU] XTREME GAMERS UNITED
BattleField 2 Clan
Visit Us @ www.xtremegamersunited.com
Ventrilo @ 69.56.237.18:5157

Thermaltake Armor Jr.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 - ASUS P5N32-E SLI
2Gigs OCZ DDR2 800Mhz Dual Channel - BFG 8800GTS OC2 320MB PCIe FTW~
Sound Blaster Audigy 4 - Thermaltake 850WATT PSU
Dell 19" LCD - Logitech G11 Keyboard
Logitech G7 Mouse - Logitech X-540 5.1 Speakers
Seagate 320Gb Sata Hard Drive - LG 18X DVD-RW Sata
Windows Vista Ultimate X64Bit - Qck+ Steel Mouse Pad
brodieman is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 10:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

Its safe and more importantly stupid
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 11:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 105
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

so I take it all of this is stupid then right...


casemods
__________________
[XGU] XTREME GAMERS UNITED
BattleField 2 Clan
Visit Us @ www.xtremegamersunited.com
Ventrilo @ 69.56.237.18:5157

Thermaltake Armor Jr.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 - ASUS P5N32-E SLI
2Gigs OCZ DDR2 800Mhz Dual Channel - BFG 8800GTS OC2 320MB PCIe FTW~
Sound Blaster Audigy 4 - Thermaltake 850WATT PSU
Dell 19" LCD - Logitech G11 Keyboard
Logitech G7 Mouse - Logitech X-540 5.1 Speakers
Seagate 320Gb Sata Hard Drive - LG 18X DVD-RW Sata
Windows Vista Ultimate X64Bit - Qck+ Steel Mouse Pad
brodieman is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 11:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default Re: Dual Psu's????

How did you get "Good-looking case mods are stupid" from "Running dual power supplies without a good reason is foolish"?
__________________

__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual boot xp and vista mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 7 09-25-2007 06:49 PM
Dual monitor on one VGA cable M2k4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 12:32 PM
Dual core vs SLI in gaming laptop brother2angel New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-11-2007 07:41 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM
getting rid of a dual boot screen? TimBlanchard Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-04-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.